We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Japanese restaurant”
Review of Zama

Zama
Reserve with OpenTable
Zama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #221 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Moravian
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had very good sushi and Jpanese dishes in Zama.

There are quite few authentic Japanese dishes in their menu as well as Americanised sushi/maki fillings.
The autentic ones I tried were very tasty and sushi were high standard.

I know high standard sushi and Japanese food as I am Japanese.
And I am sure that I will go back to Zama next time I visit Philly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mipsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is probably my favorite sushi restaurant in Philly. Expensive but great selection of fresh, interesting sushi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good sushi”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a great experience here...came in late, alone, and sat at the sushi bar. Ordered the tasting menu, and everything was very high quality and delicious. Since I was there near closing, I got a little extra attention from Zama. He is very cool and a very good sushi chef. Loved the decor here, very relaxing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A Good Sushi Dinner”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food and service were both good. I would recommend making a reservation on a Friday or Saturday night. We didn’t make a reservation and while we were seated immediately, we were seated outside…not ideal on a windy night!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherryTravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quality food, but not amazing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Zama's decor was nice, but not inspiring. The food was somewhat hit or miss for my taste. I had the Chef's tasting menu. The egg custard was not what I was expecting and in this way was a major let down. The pounded tuna was one of the best dishes they had to offer. I would say it was an overall fine place with great service but I would not return. The atmosphere was quite loud and made conversations difficult.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trishthedish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zama also viewed

 

Been to Zama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing