We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pan-asian fusion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod

Pod
Reserve with OpenTable
Pod is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: University City
Cross street: Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom
Transit: Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.
US
Level Contributor
199 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Pan-asian fusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very interesting decor is the setting for this great restaurant. Although I found the chairs a bit uncomfortable, the food was amazing with great sushi, fish dishes, steak, and salads. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    134
    53
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went with friends and we enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Overall the food was good but expensive. My only complaint was the lamb chops were too greasy but everything else was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GatorD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in university city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We walked in the place last minute on a Friday night and it was very crowded. The hostess said she would get us seated in a few minutes and she did. There was a wide variety of people from college students drinking at the bar to families with kids enjoying a meal. We ordered sushi and, Seaweed salad, and the food was good although it did take a long time to come out once we placed our order. We chalked that up to the place being so crowded. We did not drink alcohol so the bill was reasonable. The only thing about the place I did not like was the bathrooms. They were individual stainless steel unisex rooms. I felt like I was using an airplane restroom. As for the food, service, and atmosphere I would recommend Pod as a good dining choice. In the future, I may choose to go on a week night instead.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had dinner at Pod a week ago while staying next door at Inn at Penn (Hilton). Good ambience and service. Had a very nice cocktail (vanilla ginger cream soda with rum), as well as a few glasses of wine.
Food was only decent for me: Asian fusion dishes, sushi (there is a conveyor belt). For a place that services Asian food they did not have any hot sauce ("ran out" was the answer that I got). Not sure how you can not stock enough hot sauce for a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
660 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are not huge sushi fans, but we loved it! Very tasty and freshly prepaired in front of you. Then put on a conveyer belt that circles the bar. Our server was very nice and helpfull explaing the menu. The prices were very reasonable for the location. We valet parked at the hotel and was worth it not to put up with Philadelphia's confusing public parking meters, signs, kiosks, and more contadictory signs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod also viewed

 

Been to Pod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing