We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Plough & The Stars
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough & The Stars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #148 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Transit: Septa Buses 5,17,21, 33, 42,48, 57 New Jersey Transit Patco
Description: At the Plough & the Stars the owners are determined to bring the true taste of Ireland to Philadelphia, our food is described as Western European with a strong Irish influence. We were awarded by Citysearch as Philadelphia's Best Brunch. We have been featured numerous times on the Food Network and have cooked at the James Beard House in New York. Enjoy our famous Mussells Veloute, Striped Bass with Potato Crusted Scales or Guinness Casserole. Or if you prefer you can dine on our casual bar fare. We have installed the most sophisticated beer system in the US, imported directly from Ireland and installed by Guinness technicians. Each pint of the 12 beers on tap is perfect. The atmosphere created by the simple, yet powerful decor and fills a visitor to the Plough & the Stars, with an overwhelming feeling of awe and inspiration. The stage is set for an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. Weekend nights turn the Plough into one of Old City's favorite bar scenes!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We came for a late dinner. Great service and food is excellent. Interesting menu. Good salads and boutique beers offered. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    111
    34
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice bar to party at”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Bartenders were cool. Music was nice and it was definitely a packed house after 10 PM. Definitely a nice place to check out for a good time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Tasty Bit of Ireland in Old City”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopped by for lunch with the family after an appointment nearby. Was not crowded and service was prompt and helpful. We were surprised that they had a children's menu with the standard pastas and chicken. I ordered the sheppard's pie, my wife had the curry chicken, my son a cheesesteak and my daughter kid's buttered noodles. Fresh baked wheat and soda bread were brought as we waited. Our food was served promptly and the portion was ample. My entree was excellent, my daughter (who is a bit fussy had a large sample of the pie.) My son enjoyed his cheesesteak which came with fries and my wife thought the curry was great. Overall it was a great lunch experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tazmrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disgraceful - Poor Service All Around”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I’ve been going to the Plough for years when visiting center city in the summer. Each time we would go to for Sunday brunch and stay to watch the Phillies game. This year (June 2nd), in the middle of the game, the staff turned off the baseball game to watch soccer. When we inquired why, no reason was given other than a STAFF member would rather watch soccer. No problem, we simply went around the corner to Triumph Brewing Company. The Plough waiter (who offered nothing but poor service himself) lost a hefty tip. There are plenty of places in the city to spend 100 plus bucks next time, and the next time, and the next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise and great food to boot!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We wandered in for dinner after a day of walking the streets of Philly and were pleasantly surprised at the interior of the restaurant...very cool! The waitstaff was some of the friendliest we've come across in a long time, which was nice to see. The food was excellent! Their homemade bread is scrumptious, albeit a little heavy before a meal. I had the poached pear salad as an app and it was perfect. My husband had the pork tenderloin for his entree and I had the sirloin. We both really enjoyed our dishes. We would definitely return on a weekend evening for their live music!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough & The Stars also viewed

 

Been to The Plough & The Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing