We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

The Plough & The Stars
Reserve with OpenTable
The Plough & The Stars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 4,392 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Transit: Septa Buses 5,17,21, 33, 42,48, 57 New Jersey Transit Patco
Description: At the Plough & the Stars the owners are determined to bring the true taste of Ireland to Philadelphia, our food is described as Western European with a strong Irish influence. We were awarded by Citysearch as Philadelphia's Best Brunch. We have been featured numerous times on the Food Network and have cooked at the James Beard House in New York. Enjoy our famous Mussells Veloute, Striped Bass with Potato Crusted Scales or Guinness Casserole. Or if you prefer you can dine on our casual bar fare. We have installed the most sophisticated beer system in the US, imported directly from Ireland and installed by Guinness technicians. Each pint of the 12 beers on tap is perfect. The atmosphere created by the simple, yet powerful decor and fills a visitor to the Plough & the Stars, with an overwhelming feeling of awe and inspiration. The stage is set for an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. Weekend nights turn the Plough into one of Old City's favorite bar scenes!
Ambler
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The area where the restaurant is located is lovely in Spring, We go there for lunch. The food is always good & the decor is pretty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeveloff369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    111
    34
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food was ok but everything else not so much”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I was there on labor day weekend and was not very impressed. The server did not give us the bar menu which contained the fish and chips I wanted to try per a recommendation, so we basically had to ask for it. The food was good but it took forever to come out. The drinks took forever to come out after our server explained their high dollar tap machine for Guiness which tasted the same as any other Guiness.
The prices were high for the quality and the server also took forever to bring our bill out after we asked for it right after ordering dessert.
The ambiance was ok, they advertise live Irish music but the guy only played 3 Irish style songs while we were there... The music was nice but not Irish.
I would go back for the fish and chips but would sit at the bar to avoid the talkative waitress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fun night life if you can stand the crowds. Lots of other bars within walking distance so its a good bar to hop to.

Helpful?
Thank Alw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Went here on a Wednesday evening & back again on Friday. Nice, quiet, delicious (I had the crab stuffed salmon which was delicious). We opted to sit up in the balcony on Friday because the music (one man on a guitar) was extremely! loud. We could hardly hear ourselves talk. Perhaps it is geared towards a younger crowd...but for our older ears...no. Food was delicious both times & service was friendly. I'd return again.....on a weeknight.....:)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
“Top class”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Was in Philly for a conference visited the the Plough and the stars on three different night, the food was very good and the bar staff excellent especially John Joe(Gwan Celtic) so if you are in philadelphia its worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough & The Stars also viewed

 

Been to The Plough & The Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing