We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but not much of it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabul Restaurant

Kabul Restaurant
Ranked #437 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center East
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food but not much of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Five PM, Tuesday we had the restaurant to ourselves so as expected our service was good and quite fast. Lamb dishes average $16-$17 and come with a small but quite tasty iceberg salad. The lamb dinners were all basically chunks of lamb mixed in a flavorful sauce with spinach, beans, apples, pumpkin or one or two other veggies over a very large plate of well prepared rice. The positive is that the food was well prepared and very good. The negative is that the meal was mostly rice with a small amount of the lamb & veggie. They do offer an option of more meat for an additional $2, something that I believe most diners would be wise to consider.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guamvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

He should close that resturant or hire some consultant to run it better, food was not bad, but the portions were baby and you need to order 2 on trays to feel somewhat full. hardly any one was in the resturant, reason? if you feed people they will come back but if you take there money keep em hungry no one is coming back. My advise give generous portions at reasonable prices or next time I might not see you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tarlok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethnic Food and Cultural Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Authentic Ethnic Food and Cultural Experience.
Friendly and welcoming staff and owner, amazingly delicious food, enjoyed restaurant decor, great cultural immersion experience. Will definitely come back with friends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Gr and eat dumplings, pumpkin side dish excellent - main dish was overly dry and forgettable lamb -- Enjoyed the orange slices maarinated in rosewater

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rgwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Got delivery from here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was exhausted my first night in Philly so I got delivery from this place via Foodler.com. I had steamed scallion dumplings with topped a spicy beef and a yogurt sauce on top. I'd never had this before, but it was wonderful. Tasted fantastic and did well in transit from the restaurant. Don't forget to request utensils, though. It's messy to eat with your fingers!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MorgannaLeFey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabul Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing