We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good italian food”
Review of Varalli Restaurant

Varalli Restaurant
Ranked #616 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Locust Street
Description: Residing in the heart of Philadelphia’s Center City, Varalli Restaurant reflects the elegance and artistry of its Avenue of the Arts location. A dining destination for over 24 years, Varalli Restaurant is conveniently located within a few blocks of the Convention Center, major hotels, theaters and arts venues. This restaurant boasts playful decorative accents that give each dining room the distinction of a chic gallery featuring whimsical oceanic sculptural details and a unique illuminated glass fusion mosaic. The menu’s Northern Italian and Mediterranean-style seafood dishes are works of art in their own rights and promise flavorful distractions.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I took the special menu ait 45$ and every plate were very good and tasty. My wive took the gnocci and a cesar salad that stangely was'nt good at call.

Helpful?
Thank Ulric M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We will be back for more”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stopped in during Beer Week for their special draft flight and flatbreads. WOW! The flatbreads were amazing! They were huge and the selections offered were superb. We got three different to share and could not decide which was our favorite! That good! We plan to go back for their Pre-Fixe menu with wine pairing! Can't wait! Also very friendly staff which is important to us when we travel. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NuLuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
319 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Special meal”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The manager, George Van Schiver, had personally invited us to return for a special meal after a disastrous New Year's Eve experience. Four of us went last night and were treated with great care. He tries to make everyone welcome but went the extra mile with us last night.
The food was delicious and we got out when we told them we wanted to so that we weren't rushed for our concert.
You turned us back into future customers, George.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclairewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-Atlantic region
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A top-notch favorite across the board”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I haven't been to Varalli's since I moved from Center City several years ago. But my visit last night was even better than I remember. The food was delicious, and the restaurant has maintained a wonderful decor and ambiance. I also appreciated the great service. The staff genuinely cares that the customers have a pleasant dining experience.

If you can dine early by 5:30, the "Beat the Crowd" Prix Fixe menu is convenient and quite reasonable. We had plenty of time to order, enjoy our dinner, relax and make it to our show on time. The 4-course dinner was only $35 ($100 total for two w/ drinks, tax & gratuity).

I give Varalli's 5 stars across the board. The old top-notch favorite hasn't changed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pathen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent food and service. Within walking distance of the Kimmel Center and Ritz-Carlton. We were on a time frame to get to the Kimmel Center for 2nd show and the staff worked with our schedule.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VVickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varalli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Varalli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing