We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family run Italian”
Review of Il Cantuccio - CLOSED

Il Cantuccio
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Family run Italian”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I live in Philadelphia so am spoiled by so many wonderful restaurants. However finding a BYOB for 6 on a saturday can be a challenge. So I had been to this place before with a group a long time ago and remember enjoying myself, and they had a table available. I am actually surprised by the many negative reviews as we had a great time last night. It is a tiny place! the kitchen is open and in the dining area, so its a little smoky and warm. The son/owner is a bit of a showman and is very loud but we didn't care. We ordered tap water which did take some time to come but we avoided that charge. He then suggested a mixture of appetizers which were substantial and very good . Steamed mussels were delicious, roasted vegetables some cheese/meats. The basil pesto was awesome. Because its a BYOB you dont have the ridiculous upcharge on drinks, so that is a savings. We all really enjoyed our entrees which are fairly simple- meat lasagne, shrimp linguini, mahi mahi, orichetti with broccoli rabe and chicken. They could have been a tad hotter but overall good. We then had delicious cannolis and espresso. The price was about 32 dollars per person which was very reasonable for alot of food. Overall a fun, sort of loud experience which casual service, but this is not molecular gastronomy place people. If you want that, go to Vetri.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hbomb19130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, Bad crab”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good service, bad crab. The special I ordered, linguini with shrimp and crab, smelled like ammonia. I realized it was the crab meat. Not good!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WindsorBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful dining experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I was increadibly disappointed in Il Cantuccio! We arrived and were seated promptly by the hottest and then greeted by the most annoying waiter who was loud and overbearing the entire evening. We ordered an appetizer and started in on a bottle of wine. Two in our party ordered the same special. The dish arrived at the table piping hot but was so salty that it was inedible! When we spoke to the waiter about our displeasure, he informed us that all Italian food is salty and suggested that we drink more wine. Needless to say, I won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank FoodiegirlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, horrible service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Four of us went to Il Cantuccio for New Year's Eve with reservations advertised $35 per person. When we arrived the menu had $35 crossed out and $40 penciled in. We laughed it off and ate. The food was better than average but when the waiter brought us expensive bottled water after specifically telling another waitress tap water we started to get frustrated. It all ended with them sliding the check face down on the table with non-labeled 20% tip included (for a 4 person party). It's evident they know their service is poor or else they wouldn't include tip on the bill. We won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“success has created a poor attitude”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

we have been going to this restaurant since it opened. four of us had reservations. when we arrived we were told we would have to wait awhile to be seated, 15-20 minutes. since their was no room inside to wait we went out and took a short walk. when we came back we were told our seats were given to another party. the careless, uncaring attitude of the mgmnt quite frankly turned us off. we left and decided not to go back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigsteven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantuccio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing