We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great knowledge of mixing!!”

Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 4,406 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between Market & Chestnut Streets
Transit: Phlash, Septa Market-Frankford Line (2nd & Market)
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great knowledge of mixing!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really good Caribbean food, and the service was excellent. We sat long enough to relax and have several drinks with our meal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    242
    80
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Cuban Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very pleasant chain restaurant. One can if one wants get unspiced food. If hungry, the tasters platter is worthwhile. The waiter we had was outstanding. The only negative is the piped music, as much as I like Cuban music after a while it gets old while eating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shadow4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Loved it. The food was amazing: empanadas were the best I have ever had; papaya butter was amazing; mango guacamole was wonderful. Cannot wait to go back. Fun getting the check in a cigar box.

Helpful?
Thank Ctroskoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small plates”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Husband and I went here for my birthday. We ordered 2 small plates - the calamari and chicken empenade. While both very tasty, "small" was the correct word. There were about 3 delicate calamari on a bed of watermelon. 1 empenade - while very good - not enough to really share. I had the grilled seafood selection. Again, good but for the price, I expected a bit more. Husband had the skirt steak with black beans and rice. He said he enjoyed it.

Best parts of the meal? The bread with mango butter and the pomegranite mojito. Also LOVED the coffee - may return just for that!

Also, our server was excellent

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stopped here for dinner after a long flight to Philly from the West coast. We enjoyed the open air setting, the service, the good food, and the available small portions. We would definitely return again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerncrkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing