We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder chef's like to eat here...”
Review of Bibou

Bibou
Reserve with OpenTable
Bibou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Cross street: Kimball
Transit: Septa buses
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No wonder chef's like to eat here...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

There's something about this place. Anyone who had travelled to France will recognize it immediately. And anyone who has worked in a fine restaurant will get the vibe -- the deep, primitive imprint of "la technique" that we carry in our hearts from the traditions of France, our favorite grandmother. I think of it as exquisite comfort.

There are plenty of French restaurants and scores of food preparers who know how to make the dishes but it takes something unique to bring this extra feeling to life.

It was a delightful experience and Sunday dinner was just the perfect time to experience it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    24
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,401 reviews
559 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,720 helpful votes
“Another wonderful meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We live in Reading so it is a bit of a trek to have dinner in Philadelphia. We thought we would put forth the effort for our anniversary. It was well worth it. It so happened our anniversary fell on a Sunday - the day they have the prix fix dinner - which is 3 courses for $45. Since it is BYOB, it is a terrific bargain. For starters, we had the shrimp "Napoleon" and the house made terrine. For the main course we had trout and Pompano and for dessert we had chocolate fondant with red wine poached peach and a wonderful flan. The bread and French butter are a highlight for me. Everything was delicious and well presented. Service is perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Taste of France”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were so glad we made a reservation more than a month before our trip to Philly. This is a very special restaurant. The byob policy helps one splurge on the food. The dinners were some of best French food we have ever eaten. The macroons were a nice touch after our dinners.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
224 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Top class, great food great service...fantastic experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Last family diner in Philadelphia before heading back.
We manage to book a table on the sunday, fix menu but choice is enough.
This is a very cosy place with excellent service, our waiter made the evening a success just by himself.
The food is traditional french food with a chef who really care about products and cooking. The food was delicious and we will go back as soon as we visit our daughter.
Really a place not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never ate a pigs foot before ...but wow it was delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Accompanied friends here and was horrified that the only reservation we could get was at 5.30pm. However the food was excellent and the fact that it is BYOB made it well priced. had a delicious warm seafood salad as a starter and then the stuffed pigs foot. Others in the party had mussels and a special fish dish...both very tasty. Despite the early hour this was one of the best evening meals I have had in Philly and it left most of the evening for other excitements!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibou also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Bibou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing