We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer and Mussels”
Review of Monk's Cafe

Monk's Cafe
Ranked #70 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center West
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beer and Mussels”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I can't figure out why this place is so popular. Maybe it's the craft beer and the many varieties of mussel preparation ( Thai Curry). Neither of them is a favorite of mine. Average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    192
    54
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must stop in Philly for craft beer lovers”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is an absolute must stop for anyone remotely serious about their craft beer. I've visited several times while in Philly, and every time the tap menu has been one of the best I've seen. It has diverse and rare offerings from American craft breweries like Russian River, but also imports from the likes of de Molen and de Struise. Also, their house beer, the Monk's Sour Ale is one of my favourite sour beers. You can get it on tap, but also get bottles to go.The servers are usually pretty knowledgeable about the beer menu.

The food is also excellent. The mussels are not to be missed. The burgers are also solid, and they will actually cook the meat to your preference. Come for the beer, stay for the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Monk's Cafe loves their Belgium beer. If you like Belgium Beer than Monks will not disappoint. In addition to a great selection of Belgium beer, the bar's selection of American craft beers is very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Her and mussels”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fun place. The beer menu is outstanding. Mussels are the best I have ever had. The waiter was outstanding and very knowledgeable. Service was fast but we were not rushed. The only negative was the lack of lighting. It was so dark we used the flashlight on our phones to read the menu. Great place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pvh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place for a unique beer variety”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went there for dinner on the 13th. Crowded place . Walked in , it took 15 min to find a table in the back room. We waited at the bar, we were ignored, she was busy. We had the Spanish flies lived up to the description spicy , but undercooked . The duck salad was very good. I had the salmon was very good too. Service was average. Beer choices were endless. We tried the Chimey it was good. With such a beer menu you're going to find something to your liking. We would go back for the beer and a light meal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nabaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Cafe also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Monk's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing