We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Gianfranco Pizza Rustica
Ranked #794 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighborhood: City Center East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center East
Flintstone, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here because it was the first place I walked past that was still open after walking around Philadelphia and I'm glad I did. I've had Pat's and Geno's cheesesteak's, but I actually preferred this place cheesesteak. It was great. Great flavor and nice bread. Had a slice of pizza too and it was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chattsteam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good delivery pizza in the city”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to veg out at our hotel room
And get delivery. The food was your average pizza shop, maybe a little better. Might be better of eating at the actual resta

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritawiebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My Friday night lover :)”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Religiously, whether Fri or Sat, or both at times, this pizza has eased hangovers or fulled empty bellies with delish zza and cheese fries. The sicilian is my favourite. Thank you, guys.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food but salty!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had great pizza (meatball, sausage and mushrooms) and lovely salads, but the chicken wings definitely were not New York-style, and we both found ourselves very thirsty for the following 24 hours. Friendly employees made it easy to special order.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank balhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best pizza in 25 years!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Twenty five years ago I left Philly but came in for a visit. We met a guy on the Visitor Center lawn who recommended Gianfranco as the "best pizza in the world." That's a pretty bold statement, so we walked a couple blocks, turned the corner and found this small, hole in the wall establishment that had just 3 tables. So we turned right around, and were staring at other places we could eat when a real nice girl who happened to be a Betsy Ross House tour guide saw us looking all touristy and stopped to ask us if we were looking for a place to eat. We told her we wanted pizza and she said the best place was right in front of us - Gianfranco's.

So we went in and ordered a few slices and a couple sodas. Wow, it really took me back 25 years ago. The pizza was everything that Philly pizza should be. I wish we were staying longer because we'd definintely go back for more.

If you're looking for a comfortable place to sit, go elsewhere. If you're looking for authentic Philly pizza that will leave you wanting more, go here.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiPhiPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianfranco Pizza Rustica also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Gianfranco Pizza Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing