We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 4,341 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut
New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Modern Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had dinner here on a Friday night. We came early and had drinks at the bar. Bar is not large but drinks were good except for the beer selection.Were seated on time and started with the chicken and ginger dumplings. They were delicious but portions are small so I would not recommend sharting. For my entree I had the Dungeness crab and Sticky rice. It was delicious! Everything was perfectly cooked and service was excellent. The crowd that night was a young urban upscale crowd. Dress to impress. This is not sutible for young children. The restaurant is beautiful and tastefully decorated. I will defenitley be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    281
    98
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
POS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Visited there while sightseeing in Old City. Lunch was fabulous, especially the crab fried rice, which was served in a real crab shell.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Date Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Best fish (Chilean Sea Bass) I have ever had, bar none! Cooked to perfection. Waitress suggested one of their cocktails called a 'Jade'. It had gin, cucumber flavor, melon and other indredients. I said I was not a big fan of gin. She said if I did not like it I did not have to pay for it and I could get something else. Needless to say I paid for the drink and tipped generously. Nirvana in a cocktail glass!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really, Really Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Buddakan calls their food "modern Asian." I would add really, really good modern Asian. My wife and I wanted a nice dinner in Philadelphia to switch from all of the Philly steak sandwiches. Buddakan delivered. The pad Thai, pepper steak, and curry cauliflower were all excellent. Our server was happy, helpful and efficient. The decor was modern with one giant Budda overlooking the scene. It doesn't look like a temple, it's tailored. Go here for dinner. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have eaten at the Buddakan in Atlantic City before. Our daughter made reservations for us to eat here our first night in Philly. The food is fantastic. The waiter was excellent. His recommendations were right on on. We had edamame dumplings and spicy rock shrimp as appetizers. We had Sizzling short ribs and barbeque pork as our entrees. The waiter recommended a rice dish to go along with the entrees. We had Korean beef fried rice. My mouth is watering just writing this review. Another thing that impressed me about the restaurant was that the manager came around and asked our opinions. He was a regular guy who enjoyed kidding around. We are always impressed when a manager comes around and the restaurant values your opinion. A great place to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aroos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing