We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went for lunch during restaurant week. Terrific menu selection, great atmosphere, attentive service. Love the waterfall wall! The crying chocolate is a MUST! Loved everything. Will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShariAnn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    281
    98
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just so so”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Maybe I went on a bad day. The food was good but nothing exceptional. I cannot say the waitress was rude but I can't say she was nice either, disinterested would be the best word I can come up with. No one smiled, I don't know if that is their thing or not. All in all I'm glad I went just to scratch it off my list but I can't imagine why I would go back. It is a pretty restaurant, the giant Buddha was impressive, but truthfully I've had more flavorful food at one of the food trucks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandcharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
258 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“lives up to it's reputation.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

the restaurant is beautiful, the food was fabulous, the service was better than excellent. the tuna tartare spring rolls were amazing --- I almost ordered another one for dessert! everything we had was delicious. the prices are high, but worth every penny. I can't wait to go back....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ritabee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, eclectic.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Called in without a reservation on Friday night. We were offered a table in 30-45 minutes or a seat at the bar. We took the bar option upstairs (better seating than downstairs). We were very well taken care of by the bartender who delivered our wine order swiftly. Starters of crispy duck buns and wagyu beef satay were both delicious. Miso black cod and black pepper beef mains were also good but the beef really stood out. Everything about it was excellent. The cod was good but I've had better. The restaurant was very busy and lively which made for a very enjoyable evening and the location was perfect for the historic part of Philadelphia where we were staying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViatorMundi_GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the atmosphere and food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Buddakan Restaurant is walking distance to the Independence Park tours. I ate my lunch before my Independence Park tours. I did not have a reservation but I was seated quickly. This is not a fast food burger or hot dog restaurant so relax and enjoy the atmosphere and the food. I ordered the Bento box—Miso soup, Garlic Shrimp, Char Siu Pork Bun. My beverage is a non-alcohol Mango Flavored Lemonade (Ask for a sample).

Will return when in Philadelphia again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0madg0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing