We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It never disappoints”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It never disappoints”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have been a fan of this restaurant since my first visit several years ago. It remains high on my list. The food is consistenly good, a little different, and varied. The atmosphere is lively, the wait staff is attentive and the prices are even reasonable. Everyone should save room for the dim sum donuts that come with dipping sauce and cream. I am not a big dessert eater but they are heavenly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    281
    98
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great appetizer and entree options”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The food is very tasty. The decor is very interesting - in a good way. The noise level is very high. Servers seem to scramble about, which make it a feeling of being rushed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank resortspert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Experienced Asia/Mix Menu”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We waited 8 weeks to get a prime 7pm reservation on a Saturday night, it was worth the wait!! Our server was gracious, & helped us navigate the appitzer portions for a party of four (most items have 3 or 6 pieces) we increased our order to 4 to 8 pieces easily. We had a ceaser salad to start, yummy, follow by dumpling & spring rolls, delicious. I had the sea bass which was done to a perfection!! we also had their shrimp entree, & a steak dish with a side order o chinese broc. all were scrumptous. We want to try all of the Steve Starr restaurants now!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The setting is great; the food is great - the bao buns are yummy; the service is always top notch. You are treated like a valued gues.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpgor33336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Philadelphia”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stephan Starr's best restaurant! Asian like you have never eaten. It has been our favorite for 10 years and we go for every special occasion. You have to make reservations. There is not a bad table in the restaurant, but upstairs is wonderful. This restaurant never disappoints

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cct208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing