We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Effie's

Effie's
Reserve with OpenTable
Effie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #588 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: 11th
Transit: Get off at 11th & Walnut
Fall River, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food good value”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my young adult kids. We shared the appetizers and Greek salad. Really good. Served with nice warm bread. The service was great. It was a warm summer day. They can back to refill the water glasses often. We split Moussaka and Shrimp Santorini for entrees. Both were well prepared. Good sized portions. As we were leaving we noticed that they had a courtyard out back. We were disappointed that no one offered that as an option when we were first seated. But overall this was an excellent choice for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio,TX
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've been going to Effie's for years (while at school in Philly), and return whenever we're in Philadelphia.
Great Greek food, great staff. BYOB. Reliable quality and delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalterReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Get the Shrimp Santorini”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cozy, authentic Greek BYOB.....no reservation needed on a Wednesday....only a few tables were filled in the front room with a good view overlooking Pine Street
The grilled octopus salad was very tasty, seasoned well, the octopus was chopped in very small pieces, the portion was small ....have had better elsewhere. The Shrimp Santorini was outstanding....the sauce had a creamy texture with a fabulous flavor, not overly spiced.
The service was just ok....our server was friendly, the kitchen was slow. Our order was taken promptly but then we waited a long time for our appetizer. The octopus salad was served with the shrimp dish. Seemed like someone forgot we ordered the appetizer.
Decided to eat here because we purchased a Groupon......would give it another try because the shrimp dish was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trekinalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Atmosphere: tiny, cramped, badly in need of repairs/renovations/updates The night we were there was hot & humid and their air conditioning was not keeping up -- definitely an appetite killer. Service: our server was sweet but clearly overworked and clueless Food: I would have forgiven almost everything is the food was good but it was not. Appetizers OK -- the sample plate was tiny for the price and the grilled octopus was eh. Entrees: mousaka -- no flavor, clearly microwaved, unedible. Tilapia special: bland, not fresh. Gyro plate: meat was good but the rice was pathetic and the vegetable of the day (on a Saturday nite) was green peas! Not fresh green peas but straight out of the can green peas. We chose this because of some good reviews and BYOB but will clearly not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilonka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good comfort food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant on several occasions and find it to be consistent comfort food that is reasonably priced. This is a BYOB restaurant with only five tables in the front room, but they do have another room outside and in back of the restaurant that is charming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prof61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Effie's also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
 

Been to Effie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing