We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience its now on our Philadelphia list of must return restaurants”

Lacroix at The Rittenhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Lacroix at The Rittenhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 4,491 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 19th & Walnut
Transit: PHLASH
Description: Located in the prestigious Rittenhouse Hotel, gazing over downtown Philadelphia's most elegant square, Lacroix has become a landmark in its own right. Romantic and evocative, our dining room beckons with the luminous glow of candlelight. Indulge your palate in our world-class menu, composed of the freshest ingredients.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was a second choice restaurant for us the other was booked full. It was a birthday dinner so we decided to splurge. They had a a 4 course pick your own or 8 course chef tasting 6 savory plus a few add ins and 2 sweet. We had the 8 course and was pleasantly presented our beautiful courses one after another. I will recommend if you thinking on adding the white truffle 30$ (if in season) each be "wise" on what it's placed on because its shaved on at table side. Service was impeccable! Well done. We weren't staying at the hotel but did use the valet service and left our car there and walked to the theater we had tickets for that nights show.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 3chances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear 3chances,
Hope we are now your first choice restaurant in Philadelphia! Thank you for sharing your experience with others. A tres bientot.
Regards
Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 378 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is by FAR the best restaurant in Philadelphia. In NY we like Per Se, EMP, and Jean Georges. If you like those places, then you'll like Chef Jon Cichon and the entire team at Lacroix. Best front of house team in Philadelphia as well, and the best Sunday brunch in Philadelphia too. Did I mention that it's the best? Our only other choices for restaurants are.... in New York!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank freqtravler_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear freqtravler_r
Thank you for the outstanding review. We are very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our establishment, food and most of all service... looking forward to your next visit!
Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I've only been to this restaurant for breakfast or brunch when staying in the hotel. If you have time in the morning, there's no better way to start your day. The atmosphere and food are excellent, with a lovely view of Rittenhouse square. The Sunday brunch is quite an experience, and I especially like the meandering way in which the food is presented, including multiple stops in the kitchen itself. The brunch is very popular and an advance reservation is a good idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Travelpro513,
Thank you for your stellar review. I'm delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. You should join us for dinner as well sometimes!
Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I had Sunday brunch at Lacroix and it was a thoroughly satisfying experience. It's buffet type, beginning with raw bar and other nibblies, including three types of caviar and blini's, fine oysters, decent shrimp, a not very exciting sushi. The other beginners ranged from very good (e.g octopus to ok) The salads were interesting, but we missed a simple salad to clear our palates. The main attraction, however, was in the kitchen, where one helped one self to the specials they had on offer. The carving station had top notch meat, cooked to perfection, including lamb chops, duck breasts and pork. Some very interesting dishes were also offered, duck legs with red-cabbage-- a perfect offering for the holiday season--wonderful brussel sprouts, and excellent potatoes. The meatballs were not very exciting. Desert was plentiful, but we preferred the raspberries with whipped cream (though were disappointed to discover the cream had sugar in it). The service was excellent. For us a good experience, though unlike many other fine Sunday brunches (for example the Biltmore in Santa Barbara California, where sparkling wine is included in the price) the drinks were expensive, making the value of the place a bit high. Still a very nice place to enjoy a leisurely and excellent Sunday brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear fiu222,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experinece with others. We are very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch. I look forward to sharing your review with the entire team. Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere in lovely. Menu is classic and special. I would reserve this place for a special occasion like an anniversary or birthday.

Thank Bonnie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvain B, General Manager at Lacroix at The Rittenhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Bonnie Z,
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to serve you again soon.
Kind Regards. Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacroix at The Rittenhouse also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Lacroix at The Rittenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing