We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alma de Cuba

Alma de Cuba
Reserve with OpenTable
Alma de Cuba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Central American, Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Between 16th and 17th
Transit: Take the Broad Street Line to Walnut-Locust Station. Walk 2.5 blocks West; The 42 Bus Route Runs on Walnut Street and Locust Street. 17th Street stop.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Awesome Cuban style. Miss true Cuban food from FL-but this is very good. Service was amazing & everyone was our waitress/waiter. Manager came to check on us during our meal as well. Drinks, main oncourse & dessert were very enjoyable!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ltpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    249
    68
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
553 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nice Experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Having married a Cuban, and having a mother-in-law who was the most incredible cook, and having lived in Miami for the first 39 years of my life, I feel somewhat qualified to comment. Good food, well prepared, nice atmosphere, and reasonably priced, but not the 'alma' or 'soul' of Cuba. You will enjoy yourself here and also enjoy a hint of Cuba in the cuisine, but if you want truly authentic Cuban food...it won't be here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelsrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ceviche tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a great time escaping the hurricane with mojitos. Happy hour had 6 dollar mojitos which were well made. Dinner was followed with ceviche tasting which was the highlight of the night. Scallops were very good for the main. Our server was very nice and accommodating. Add it to your list

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lechon asada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We always try to be seated before 7:00 so you have time to absorb the treats. If you enjoy pork Cubano style this is a treat. When you are with a group share multiple appetizers it is worth the adventure...try the lamb neck casabe. The bread and plantains are excellent. The staff are cordial and well informed about the menu. I try to eat here every other time I'm in Philadelphia for business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thepearl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where I go to celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Birthday, anniversary, job promotion, Friday. Whatever the reason to celebrate, I come here. The Marlin Tacos are the hit of the appetizer sampler and the Pernil (Pork Shoulder) is so worth the cost. (It could use some more rice on the side but I still have not finish a plate yet so why complain.) The staff is wonderful and never overbearing. They are quick to respond to a request and clear the table between servings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Echevarria68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma de Cuba also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Alma de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing