We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful coffee experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Colombe Coffee Roasters

La Colombe Coffee Roasters
Ranked #3 of 166 Coffee & Tea in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: City Center West
Reston, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful coffee experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Whenever I travel, I always seek out coffee shops that have their own local roaster and well trained barristas. Not only was La Colombe home to both, but the barrista that day, Gus, was an artist. He was willing to adjust grind and make a specialty coffee off-menu (something most shops will refuse to do) and made it a second time when he wasn't happy with the first go around. It was fantastic, and then topped with microfoam art which raised the bar even further. Strongly recommend to my fellow coffee snobs out there.

Thanks again, Gus!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tikkunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Too popular for its own good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

OK, so we read that we HAD TO have coffee at La Colombe, so we did. It was nice to drink coffee in ceramic cups, to use real cutlery, etc. However, the line-up is very long, we were lucky to be able to sit down (many others had to leave). Coffee was good...but not very hot. I guess the place suffers from its popularity!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank QuebecLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Very Best Coffee EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everyday on my way to the office I intentionally reroute my way to pass this great coffee house. You will know it by the line of customers waiting for a cup of the very best coffee. this is the only place other than Italy have I been able to get perfectly delivered cappuccino.They only serve pastries,coffee and tea. No fancy tripple this or that with whip etc here! Reasonably priced $3.25 for a double cappuccino! A must stop in Philadelphia at either location for the coffee lover, tea totaler or people watcher.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryOnTheSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Both Locations are at the Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Drink this coffee every morning, Every employee is knowledgeable and skilled. Despite the hundreds of regulars they remember me and mu order every morning! Outstanding!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Simple the best brew you're going to find in Philly (NY, Chicago, etc.).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe Coffee Roasters also viewed

 

Been to La Colombe Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing