We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a diner”
Review of Sabrina's Cafe

Sabrina's Cafe
Ranked #19 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Born out of Robert & Raquel DeAbreu's desire to create a comfortable, welcoming place that served great food at great prices; Sabrina’s Café opened in 2001 serving up now infamous staples like Stuffed Challah French Toast, The Barking Chihuahua, and their Huevos Rancheros. A great brunch spot, Sabrinas Cafe also features creative dinner fare that is just as impressive.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than a diner”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

While Sabrina's is small and pricy, it is far better than any of the run of mill diners out there. I go there with my sister when I'm in town and have never been disappointed with my meal. The key is to not go during the weekend for brunch when everyone and their mother will be waiting for a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    202
    39
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant! BYOB too:)”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have never been disappointed with Sabrina's Cafe. The food is always delicious, inexpensive and plentiful! My favorites are the meatloaf, sweet potato fries and the french toast! The servers also have been very attentive too! I would highly recommend this restaurant for breakfast, brunch or dinner! Yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Comme Ci Comme Ca”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Seeing the reviews we gave Sabrina's a try. The place is very small with most tables up against others. You'll probably be eating with strangers. It's one of the many small trying to be "hip" mainly breakfast cafe's that are just about everywhere now. Take a plain french toast, stuff it, twist it, or put some chef's name on it and now you can charge a fortune for it. I don't know how these places stay in business. Even if the breakfast was indeed something unbelievable, which it wasn't, the prices are sky high. It seems the crowd is just too "hip" and above it, to just eat in a regular diner where the riffraff eat and are gleefully forking over big money. Even the waitresses seemed very bored like they wanted to be somewhere else, like the faces a model is told to put on in a photo shoot.
As far as the food actually went, it looked good, but my french toast was very dry. The heat escaped it in like 30 seconds and it didn't have any egg flavor, or any flavor at all really. My partner had an omelette and home fries. They were ok. All told, one french toast,one omelette, and one OJ came to $26 with tip. Won't be returning. We're probably not hip enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Laurel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice spot...great coffee & food..”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just keep in mind, wait sometimes can be horrific..& rather go to half dozen other places with no wait time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“best breakfast in the city”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Go for breakfast and expect a line. Its worth it. Some excellent and creative meals with just as creative names

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabrina's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sabrina's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing