We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable environment; delicious food!”
Review of Sabrina's Cafe

Sabrina's Cafe
Ranked #29 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Born out of Robert & Raquel DeAbreu's desire to create a comfortable, welcoming place that served great food at great prices; Sabrina’s Café opened in 2001 serving up now infamous staples like Stuffed Challah French Toast, The Barking Chihuahua, and their Huevos Rancheros. A great brunch spot, Sabrinas Cafe also features creative dinner fare that is just as impressive.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Adorable environment; delicious food!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I heard rumors that this place had the best brunch in the city, and I couldn't wait to try it the other night. We came here for 'breakfast for dinner', and we were not disappointed. My boyfriend ordered the Huevos Rancheros, which he said were spicy but delicious. I got the stuffed french toast, and it was perfect. They even added a candle because it was his birthday. Really great service with a really sweet waitress, and we brought our own bottle of wine because it's BYOB. No corking fee, adorable environment, and perfect for a week-night dinner. I would absolutely come back here again and again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    204
    39
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very personalized service and good food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a vegetarian, I hesitated staying when I smelled the bacon, but the waitress was so friendly and attentive, that I decided to stay anyway. There's actually a whole vegetarian section on their menu and the food was better than I expected. Being in Philly, I thought I should really try the Philly Cheesesteaks, but being a vegetarian, I hadn't had the chance to try it until I got to Sabrina's. Vegetarian Philly Cheesesteaks made with seitan and fried onions with melted cheese on a hoagie was better than I thought it would be and the serving size was generous. It was attractively served with a side of a delicious cabbage-based salad.

The line was long outside, but I got my food right away since I was alone and took a seat at the bar.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank helenhuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cylmorg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enormous portions!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate at Sabrina's for breakfast twice during our visit. Very friendly staff, fast service, great food. The French toast is excellent, coffee's good. Perfect place to load up for a day of sightseeing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cylmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“local cafe with great food and value”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family is on vacation in Philadelphia, staying on Ben Franklin Pkwy. We walked a few blocks to Sabrina's on Callowhill--and we are glad we did. It's like a hidden gem. The food was great, the portion sizes huge, and they serve breakfast all day. We have a teenager who loves French toast--and she claimed Sabrina's is some of the best she's eaten. My lentil stew (the soup du jour) was amazing. The only disconcerting note was the fact that it's BYOB. The neighbors obviously knew, since most people were walking in with wine bottles. But this tourist did not. Oh, well, that is a minor issue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bewitching!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My daughter took us to Sabrina's while we were visiting her at college and it was a fantastic Philadelphia experience. We sat outside on a beautiful October day, the food was amazing and the staff was terrific. They had Halloween specials which all had creative names and even more creative recipes. I had the Breakfast Chainsaw Massacre which was to die for. Loved walking around the neighborhood too. A must-do in Philly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coach_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabrina's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sabrina's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing