We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good BYOB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tre Scalini

Tre Scalini
Ranked #674 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good BYOB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great place. Excellent service. Four people all had different dinners. My veal dish was wonderful and done to perfection. My wife had scallops which were excellent but there were only 3 small ones. She was still hungry after. The other couple really enjoyed their meals. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    1
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good South Philly Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Visited last week with several friends on a Wednesday evening. The service was excellent, as the restaurant was not full that evening. There were 6 of us, and we sampled an antipasto dish, mussels, eggplant as appetizers, all were great as well as the bread. Veal dishes were excellent and the halibut specials was good also. Very enjoyable evening, no rushing to turn the table over.

I will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ondlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unfortunate experience in South Philly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

There's a review by Rebecca L. on Yelp which virtually echoes my and my parties' experience at Tre Scalini. Two couples, who live locally, had been here before and were excited about returning. Unhappily, the experience was dismal. Although the food was delicious, with the exception of my husband's veal dish which was bland, the wait was interminable! Our party arrived at 6:45. As it's BYOB, we had with us 5 bottles of wine. We didn't receive our entrees until 9:30! The wine was gone. Appetites were diminished, and our ears were shot as there was a large party of screaming bachelorettes seated next to us. The excuse for our wait? A large party upstairs. Hello Rebecca L. To add insult to injury, a 20% gratuity was automatically added to our bill. You might want to try this restaurant on a quiet, weekday night with no more than 4 people, but, otherwise, steer clear.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Puddin12609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one and done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Tre Scalini was very dissapointing, we went on a recommendation and took friend for their 50th Birthday, what a let down. The food was average and the wait staff lack any personality at all. Our waitress walked up to the table blurted our the specials and walked away. She returned with her pad and pen in her hand and just looked at us, as we were supposed to read her mind. After our appetizers arrived there was a long period of time before our entrees arrived and never did she return to our table to check on us or tell us what the problem was. We will never return, too many other great places!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank florence753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food Superb, Service Mediocre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Tre Scalini, among the E. Passayunk restaurant surge of places, (although this BYOB has been there for many years itself) is a very pleasant atmospheric place, with 2 rooms on either side of its main entrance, both pleasant, with adequate table spacing and amenable to conversation.
The menu offers a nice selection of choices including several salad choices, a mussel/calamari special, several pastas available as both entree or appetizer and specials of antipasti, also flexibly offered by person or the table. (The black pappardelle, which I had as an appetizer portion, lived up to its strong reputation and was truly excellent.) The 4 of us each had veal for a main course- 2 veal piccante, and veal Napolitano, a veal parm look alike. All were well received. The piccante 2 pieces were a plentiful and most tasty choice. On the negative side, there was no veal chop available, despite being only 7 PM on a Friday night.

The service was spotty. Bread was not brought over, despite being seated for at least 15 minutes. "Once you order, we bring it." I do not like this policy as we sat and talked for at least 10-15 minutes before ordering, without any food available. My father- an old NYC cook/chef- always told me- "At breakfast when you sit, you should be given coffee, and at dinner, bread". I agree completely.

The dessert waiter seemed distracted in general, and did not offer coffee/expresso until directly asked if these were now available. The initial waitress (the one who did not supply the bread)had a flat type affect making her seem bored, and not overly enthusiastic about several of the food selections.

In sum, the food was uniformly top quality- salads, antipasto, pasta, veals, desserts (very fine cheese cake and tiramasu) and the prices were very reasonable and fair (generally about 20 dollars or slightly more for the main selections and 1/2 or less for the appetizers. The service could be better, but was overall adequate. Given the former, I would return for sure.

P.S. Valet service is now available for 8 dollars. Again, quite fairly priced for this convenience although split between Tre and other places down the block, with the valets not overly attentive to those waiting "down the street" at Tre. We had to walk to the valet stand to get their attention and let them know we needed our car retrieved. Our arrival was similarly not that smooth. Nice service, but needs a bit of fine tuning to optimize.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HBARRY740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tre Scalini also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tre Scalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing