We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Italian food in South Philly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tre Scalini

Tre Scalini
Ranked #672 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food in South Philly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Having just come back from a trip to Italy, I was all prepared to be disappointed with the American style version of Italian food. Fortunately when the bread basket arrived, I knew I would not be disappointed. The food was very good by American Italian standards, Although I still admit that I was longing for eating Italian food in Italy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    1
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Philadelphia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have been eating here for years. Consistently fine Italian cuisine, excellent service, and byo is a bonus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krissblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Real Italian in South Philly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A group of friends who were getting together for the Philly Flower Show met here at the recommendation of a woman who lives in the area and who is married to an Italian-American. It's the real deal - not big of atmosphere and a place where you bring in your drink of choice, but the food is pretty amazing. I'd especially recommend the black parpadelle with seafood, which was outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peonyinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tre Scalini is a quaint, lovely Italian restaurant that is one of the best Italian restaurants at which I have ever eaten. All the pastas are homemade and are simply mouthwatering. The meats are tender, seasoned beautifully, and cooked to perfection. The Zuppa di Peace was beyond compare. Everyone at our table were delighted with their meal. Tre Scalini also offers a number of unique and fabulous daily specials.

The staff is friendly and attentive. They let you enjoy the conversation with your guests and won't make you feel rushed.

One important note: The restaurant does not offer bar service, so it is BYOB. Don't let that deter you from going. Just pick up a bottle of your favorite wine and head to Tre Scalini--You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank motherbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Let me preface this that I am not a high maintenance person. I have been know to tolerate lackluster meals with good humor, especially if there is some entertaining factors. Tonight, my first visit, I ordered the gnocchi with broccoli rabe, but was told they were out of the gnocchi. So I asked about getting broccoli rabe over any pasta (since they also had it on their appetizer menu over polenta) and the server told me the chef said no. Really, how easy is it to do this? (What about vegetarians?)Instead, I ordered the bolognese (comfort food), which was the worst bolognese I have ever had; it seemed they were trying to patch some red sauce up to resemble it.

Additionally, there was way too long a wait between the app and meal. There are so many other fabulous Italian restaurants on Passyunk that I would recommend over this.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tre Scalini also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tre Scalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing