We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Serve Yummy Non-Dairy Ice Cream! Yay! (And More Than One Flavor!)”

Little Baby's Ice Cream
Ranked #21 of 87 Dessert in Philadelphia
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hand-Made, Small-Batch, Super-Premium Ice Creams & Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts for Open Minded, Convivial people.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“They Serve Yummy Non-Dairy Ice Cream! Yay! (And More Than One Flavor!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I googled "vegan ice cream Philadelphia" and was pleased to find Little Baby's. It's next to Pizza Brain, which is totally where I'm going for my official birthday pizza! My husband and I had two scoops each in a cup and enjoyed the flavor and consistency of them. He had one dairy scoop, red velvet, which he loved (aside from the brain freeze). Staff was crazy friendly. We were there on a Tuesday night at 9:30 and there was a line. Love this spot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cutest little ice cream place with super friendly helpful (they let you taste as many flavors before choosing) staff. Been here several times & it just gets better. If you're looking for vanilla or chocolate, you're out of luck. Instead you'll have options like Birch Beer Vanilla Bean or Chocolate Salt Malt. VEGAN TIP: At all times, they carry a 3-4 dairy-fee delicious vegan options. My favorite include Mint Cookie and Speculoos (Yes, like the European cookie).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went there for Pizza Brain, but was glad I stayed for Little Baby's. I made a mistake by not getting the six-flavor sampler - I suspect that they all would have been as good as the two I did have. The birch beer vanilla was amazing, and the red velvet chocolate was also fantastic. Fun atmosphere - the friendly, casual neighborhood ice cream store, but with world-class ice cream flavors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JedC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paciano, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“REAL ice cream with flavors that delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Often, small ice cream shops have novelty flavors or hundreds of flavors as a gimmick. Not at Little Baby's Ice Cream. The person making the flavors here is genius. We went expressly to have the Earl Grey Tea and Sriracha on a friend's recommendation. While I couldn't figure out why those 2 flavors would make a delicious, balanced treat, one sample and it made perfect sense. The flavors explode on your palate and the sriracha is an enhancer...not a heat bomb. Wonderful! The friend that recommended it, opted for Coffee Toffee. It was also a winner. Not all of the flavors are "out there". The flavors change from time to time and there are non-dairy options.

The place is next door to Pizza Brain and seems to share business without having an inside door between (some regulations, most likely). People order pizza and wait at Little Baby's, where they walk it over to them. The atmosphere is hip, but welcoming. There were groups, singles, couples and a young family with a little one toddling around the store. The vibe, as it should be in an ice cream place, is fun. There is a red bench out front if you prefer your treats al fresco.

Next time I'm in Fishtown, I'm going to go to Pizza Brain first. The pizzas being delivered to Baby's looked and smelled fabulous!

Little Baby's Ice Cream is seriously fun and has seriously good ice cream.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paciano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Baby's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Little Baby's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing