We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged More When Paying Cash at Bar”

Stratus Rooftop Lounge
Ranked #656 of 4,403 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The bar menu reflects Stratus's global vibe: our vast selection of single malt scotches, traditional gins, icy vodkas, and warming tequilas were chosen with purpose. Those same liquors - along with seasonal ingredients and throwback recipes - make up our crafted cocktail list. Our craft beers are tapped, and a focused wine list has an emphasis on bubbles.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charged More When Paying Cash at Bar”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

BEWARE: You will be charged more for drinks if you pay cash at the bar! The bartenders added a $1 "tax" per drink for customers paying cash. However, if you paid with a credit card that "tax" didn't exist.

A friend ordered a round of drinks and paid with a card and it was one price, he then later ordered the exact same round of drinks but paid cash and it cost more. When he questioned it, the bartender told him it was a tax (convenient that the tax was an even $1 per drink) and when he questioned it again, she responded that she didn't have to serve him.

I made the mistake of not paying attention each time I ordered drinks and paid cash and didn't realize the bartenders were STEALING from me until later. My $14 drink and $5 beer, magically totaled $21. I tipped each time I ordered drinks too, not realizing that I was already paying additional money for my drink which presumably went right in the bartender's pocket. So they were tipped twice....all night....by everyone who paid cash! This happened with each bartender, not just one, who worked June 21.

I'm going to bet this way of doing business is in no way legal and I plan to do more than write a Yelp review about it. If management isn't aware of this practice, it's time to teach your bartenders the difference between right and wrong!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    15
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trendy, No view”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco, which I gave a stellar review. Stratus was fine. The rooftop location was super, the drinks were good and the decor was very trendy. It seems to be a waterhold for the 30-40 crowds, which suited me just fine.

But, because of the historic nature of the location, there really isn't much of a view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Stratus Rooftop Lounge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at Stratus during your last visit! Be sure to follow us on instagram and twitter @stratusrooftop to stay in the know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“cool and hip”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went upstairs for a drink when I checked into my hotel. Big (huge) bouncer at the bottom of the elevator is always a sign it is going to be cool inside. fire pits and heaters so it wasn't cold outside. people were dressed well, trendy. great drinks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Stratus Rooftop Lounge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed the experience at Stratus! Stay tuned for our Christmas in July party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice bar and atmosphere but really no view of the city.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Liked the bar, decor and atmosphere. Staff was very nice. However for a rooftop bar, all the views are obstructed and you really can't see the skyline or city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank chachi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Stratus Rooftop Lounge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of Stratus, we're happy that the staff made your experience welcome and warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An event to remember!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My incredibility sweet husband put together a memorable evening to celebrate a special birthday. It was a night of Great food & Cocktails, Wonderful Friends and an Amazing Atmosphere. We reserved the Vapor Room on the Stratus Rooftop Bar for this event. We worked with Sasha from Event planning (detailed/organized/excellent). We had an amazing selection of butlered Hors D' Oeuvres (make sure you get the dumplings and cheese steak rolls) and then a few stations with crab cake and filet sliders and sushi. Sasha even arranged for a birthday cake to be delivered from Whipped Bakeshop (it looked like Tiffany jewelry boxes with flowers- it was both stunning and delicious) David was the manager that managed our event that night and the Food and Service for our party was amazing. When we walked in the door there were trays of vodka martinis and cosmopolitans awaiting us. We plugged in our play list and partied the night away. The beauty of this venue is that you have the intimacy of your private room but can also intermix with everyone on the open air rooftop bar. There was a DJ the night of our party (Friday June 6th) so our guests danced both out on the rooftop with everyone and in our room to our private play list. Hard to recreate this anywhere.. the architecture, the lighting the fire pit...it was Striking, Stunning, Electric, and Romantic... just THE Bomb! Many thanks to Sasha, David and their team.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Stratus Rooftop Lounge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Wow! What a spectacular review, thank you so much for celebrating your special night with us! We're so glad that Sasha and David made an exceptional evening for all of your guests, please don't hesitate to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratus Rooftop Lounge also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Stratus Rooftop Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing