We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, wonderful cozy late afternoon spot -- romantic & real at the same time...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickory Lane

Hickory Lane
Ranked #467 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corinthian Ave
Transit: SEPTA Route 48 and 7
NYC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Warm, wonderful cozy late afternoon spot -- romantic & real at the same time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I went here on the day they had the Bastille Day Festival in the area, it was about 5PM and we were warmly greeted and well taken care of by Hostess Emily and Greg, an Italian Stallion (he was cute), I enjoyed their wonderful Happy Hour (many drinks $4) in their beautifully designed space, the walls are actually thin strips of various ribbons and trimmings here. This is a sophisticated neighborhood place that instantly embraces you as a member of the neighborhood. This is a cool spot on an adorable corner....I bet this place is great in all seasons. Go midweek or anytime, I bet it's charming on a cold day...there's just a REALLY GOOD vibe to this spot that has a creative kitchen. GO!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedCarnationReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We'll definitely be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Service was great, outside seating pleasant, food fantastic. Loved the names of the drinks and they were very good as well. The calamari was absolutely wonderful . . Fresh, seasoned just right with some pepper and cooked perfectly. Otherwise, we had the BLT and the pork belly sandwich. Both were great !!! The egg on the BLT totally made it. Can't say a bad thing about the experience. We will definitely be back !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Sunday afternoon for brunch. The restaurant utilizes OpenTable and had reservations available so I decided to check it out. The Philly brunch scene can be quite hectic with long waits for tables, but this restaurant is a hidden gem that is relatively new and undiscovered.

I ordered the open faced scrapple sandwich and it was out of this world. It was very indicative of the restaurants location and included only the freshest ingredients. My husband ordered a stuffed french toast and he enjoyed his entree as well.

I will definitely be back. The prices were very reasonable, service was excellent, and the atmosphere was charming. If you find yourself in the Fairmount neighborhood looking for a nice brunch I would definitely check this place out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregyaeg186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I don't know if its worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Met friends for dinner, had reservations, but was not that busy. Ordered scallop appetizers but had to send back because it was raw in the middle. Second attempt was very good. Felt uncomfortable with wait staff standing at open kitchen window and all facing the tables, took away from privacy of dinner with friends.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hjkmckeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We liked it as a BYOB but the bar was a very nice addition. We have been there many times and it is very consistent. The beet salad is a little expensive but very good, I am not a fan of frisée but the hickory lane frisée salad with poached egg is fantastic, they change their soups up pretty frequently but always good. You can't go wrong with the steak tartare or scallop appetizer and they have the best burgers. My suggestion is you ask your server about the main course, the steak is always consistently good, the fish dishes are usually good, ask the server, and I wouldn't recommend the chicken. Dessert is the most inconsistent so before you save room look around.
Ok, the new bar has some great drinks, I love the solitary refinement but you can brink wine for a small corkage fee. Btw it is right across the street from the old penitentiary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Lane also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Hickory Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing