We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloooow Service below average food”
Review of Red Owl Tavern

Red Owl Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Owl Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,406 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 5th & Chestnut
Transit: Market East Station - When exiting the station walk East on Market Street until you reach 5th street. Make a right onto Chestnut St. For additional directions please see http://www.monaco-philadelphia.com/map/index.html
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Sloooow Service below average food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Ordered asparagus soup and cheese plate. It took forever to come. Soup was average at best. The cheese plate was ok. The pickled cauliflower was not good. Got the drink order wrong.

Ordered wedge salad with steak and a hamburger. It took forever to come. Wedge salad was actually quite good. Hamburger was good but fries were not. They were soggy.

If I were Kimpton I would close them down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear rkaemp,

I'm very sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant experience with us at Red Owl. I would love to hear more about where we dropped the ball and how we can improve. If you could please email me at natalie.pineda@redowltavern.com I would greatly appreciate it. I hope that you will come in and give us another try.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    330
    106
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Different Menu Than Expected”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The menu was not what I expected. I had the Gumbo Soup a special. It was very good. My wife had the potato dumplings. Defiantly not what she expected. It was a very large portion and was very good. We took half home to eat later.$40 for a beer, ice tea, bowl of soup and a lunch entree was a little pricy but not too much to keep us from coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hey George,

I love that we were able to pleasantly surprise you with your lunch. You'll have to come in for dinner and try some of our modern American fare! We can't wait to see you again!

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

People were nice, service was generally good, was was pretty good, although the do run out of items! A bit small and cramped and way too loud -- especially if you're looking to unwind after a long day of business or sightseeing. Too expensive though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank calinjaxnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Calinjaxnc,

I always love hearing that we were able to provide friendly, nice service- I'm glad you got that feeling. We are very sorry that we weren't able to help you relax after a busy day of sightseeing. If there is anything more that you think we can improve upon or if there are any details you left out of your review I would love to hear what you think. You can email me at Natalie.Pineda@redowltavern.com. We look forward to seeing you next time you're visiting the City of Brotherly Love.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service, fun drinks!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great place all around. Service quick, accommodating & friendly. Craft cocktail menu and also a charcuterie plate, which I love! Brunch on Saturday was great, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weslew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Weslew,

If you like our charcuterie board, you should try our cheese board- we are constantly changing the cheeses with types from all over the world! Thank you for your kind remarks- we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This restaurant was located on the corner from the Liberty Bell. Very busy, but service was good. We ordered the bunch. They have many choices and based on what I saw being served, it all looked good. Will return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy B, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Stuart O,

Thank you so much for writing a review- we truly appreciate it! We always love hearing that our guests were taken care of and that we've won them over. We can't wait to see you again!

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Owl Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Red Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing