We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go gluten free. Regular food for the rest of you”
Review of Red Owl Tavern

Red Owl Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Owl Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,429 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 5th & Chestnut
Transit: Market East Station - When exiting the station walk East on Market Street until you reach 5th street. Make a right onto Chestnut St. For additional directions please see http://www.monaco-philadelphia.com/map/index.html
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

They cater to Celiacs.
Food is great and so is the service. Not only was it great to get out of the cold but it was warming in atmosphere. Delicious

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hey gwenbraum,

Of course we cater to Celiacs!! It is our chef's goal to make sure that there is something to eat for everyone. You came in for a warm respite during the spring and now you have to come back for a cold respite in the heat! We would love to see you again so that you can try some of our summer menu items.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for Red Owl Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 653 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped by the Red Owl Tavern after visiting Independence Hall. We were welcomed right away by the hostess when we walked in the door . We had to wait just a few minutes for a table to be cleaned, but that gave us a chance to look over the menu. The tavern has a great atmosphere and nice bar area. It was the perfect place to sit and relax after touring the sites around the Independence Hall area. The prices were not that outrageous either. We did not have to wait long at all for our food to arrive. I had the chicken salad and it was delicious with the fries with grated Parmesan cheese! Would definitely go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FLskibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hey FLskibear!

We love when our guests say that they experienced prompt, friendly service- we're glad you got that feeling! The chicken salad sandwich is delicious with the grapes as a splash of sweetness. And those parmesan-garlic fries- are they not heavenly? We look forward to seeing you next time you're visiting the City of Brotherly Love.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My stay at Hotel Monaco couldn't have been better. The location, the service, and the very pleasant staff made it special. But, I must say that my experience in the Red Owl Tavern was exceptional. I've eaten in many, many restaurants affiliated with hotels, and this was among the best. Cocktails at the bar were great and the Steak and Eggs I had for breakfast were second to none!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hi Ranleemil,

Wow! I am so happy that you had the most fantastic stay at the Hotel Monaco and that Red Owl contributed to that. We really pride ourselves on our food and drinks and I am so excited that you were able to experience that. We would love to see you again in the near future for more cocktails!

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate here while staying at the Hotel Monaco. Our breakfast/brunch food was average. My breakfast potatoes were well seasoned, spicy, but were delivered to the table barely lukewarm. Bacon was undercooked. The eggs and toast were fine. Good coffee. Prices are on the high side, but not exorbitant considering the location. The restaurant itself it very nice, although they wedged us into a table against a divider when more comfortable seating was available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hi SJEK,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback- without it we cannot constantly improve. I am so sorry that your potatoes and bacon were not hot when they arrived at the table. We would love for you to come back and give us another try next time you're in town.

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went in between lunch and dinner, the menu was limited but the food was very good and the service was excellent. The food came out very fast and beautifully presented.

Thank IsmaelGuaynabo_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie P, General Manager at Red Owl Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hey IsmaelGuaynabo_PR,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us at Red Owl and specifically the service. We really care about our guests and I am glad that you were able to see that. We would love for you stop back in next time you're in town to try the rest of what we have to offer!

Cheers,
Natalie Pineda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Owl Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Red Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing