We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Treats”

Flying Monkey Bakery
Ranked #6 of 169 Bakeries in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
svenfly2
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely bakery for the perfect desert after stuffing yourself at the reading market. The selection is great, brownies, cookies, truffles, ........all looked delicious. I had the double chocolate brownie, $3, and it was great. Staff was also very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svenfly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and really helpful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had an amazingly positive experience with this bakery. I ordered a few small items and both people I spoke to were very polite. They took extra care with bagging so nothing got smashed. As important... the quality of the food is EXCELLENT. I was amazed with the macaroon especially, I think it is the best I had. They actually destroyed a childhood memory (in a good way!), since I've had a different favorite-macaroon place for about 30 years up until now. I highly recommend Flying Monkey Bakery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tee610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The best cupcakes and whoopie pies we have ever had. My fiancé and I are lovers of all baked goods. We live near NYC and have tried all the famous places. Flying monkey is the best of any we have ever had. When in Philly we must go there and stock up. So good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Try the red velvet whoopie pies and never look back - all other baked products are now meaningless......

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank toontraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Give yourself a TREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

It all started when my wife bought a Lavender cupcake....and then I bought a whoopie pie, and then a chocolate mint cupcake, and then a homemade marshmallow dipped in chocolate and cookie crumbs..........I guess you can imagine my wife and I HIGHLY recommend the Flying Monkey Bakery......and the whoopie pie, and the mint cupcake, and the marshmallow :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjfkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Monkey Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Flying Monkey Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing