We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vernick Food & Drink

Vernick Food & Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Vernick Food & Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4,314 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 20th
Transit: Broad Street Line: Walnut-Locust station Market-Frankford Line: 15th Street station
Description: Located at 2031 Walnut Street in the Rittenhouse Square area of Philadelphia, Vernick Food & Drink is an inviting neighborhood bistro. Chef Gregory Vernick focuses on using extraordinary regional products to create a menu of approachable, globally-inspired dishes. The "Drink" side of Vernick Food & Drink features craft cocktails, as well as careful selection of domestic and imported wines and beers. Since opening, Vernick Food & Drink has earned accolades from Food & Wine, Bon Appetit, James Beard Foundation, StarChefs and more.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

There's no way to explain how great this dining experience was from beginning to end. We started with the Peach and Lamb Confit (tremendous blend of flavors), moved to the Grilled Heart of Romaine (delicious) and ended with the Braised Rabbit Leg and Sausage (perfectly cooked). We sat upstairs at a table overlooking the street and they opened the windows as it was nice and cool outside. Their wine selection is very good and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the food you have in front of you. Our waitress, whose name I can't remember, was very attentive as was the upstairs manager. Overall a GREAT experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    90
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow - So Glad to Have Eaten Here - It's an Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Friends and I went last night and everything was top notch. We started at the bar, and that's when we realized how special this evening was going to be. The special cocktails were not the usual fru-fru juice drinks. Blue Heat was tequila, lime juice, cayenne oil and extraordinary! The food menu is as inventive and creative as the drink menu, and we struggled to make decisions. 3 of us split 12 dishes from toasts, small plates, vegetables and desserts. We each received 2 amuse bouches first and knew we were in an amazing place. All the food is unbelievable. The waitstaff is the friendliest and most attentive I can recall. And sitting in the back dining room watching the kitchen is great theater. When we didn't think we could eat another bite - our wonderful waiter Ethan - arrived with 3 chocolate rasberry truffles to finish the evening.

Allow time to savor this food - our meal took almost 3 hours. My ultimate compliment is that it was worth every cent and every calorie!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jcarol1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Purity of flavor, wonderful execution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Chef Vernick is a potential super star on the Philadelphia restaurant scene, although he is young, new to the business, and still operates only this one restaurant. He has a marvelous purity of vision and simplicity of style, coupled with excellent execution. It's hard to get a table, always, and for good reason. My favorite, when i can get a seat, is sit in the kitchen where I can watch the prep. It's great for business meetings, and it's even better for a romantic evening with a special someone. The bar can be loud, but the upstairs dining room and the downstairs kitchen provide quiet spaces for dinner. Chef does wonderful things with simple grilled fish, vegetables, and meats. There is a short but adequate beer list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
169 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Philly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our party of six was seated at the large table on the second floor. The staff was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. Between all of us, we ordered almost everything on the menu and found ourselves fighting over the plates. (Even friends and family won't share when something is exceptionally delicious.) The appetizers -- "toasts" -- are a great way to sample the artistry of the chef, Greg Vernick. Another TA reviewer criticized the grilled romaine, but we found it delightful. Never having tasted sea urchin, we decided to take the risk. What a payoff! Perfectly prepared and unbelievably delectable. We also fought over the desserts -- like every other dish we ordered, fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
494 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good food, and great dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our whole bronzino with fennel and orange was nicely prepared, as were the sides of mushrooms and greens. The best part of our meal, however, was the dessert of sweet corn pudding. There's also a nice selection of wines by the glass, including some unusual selections such as zweigelt from Austria.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vernick Food & Drink also viewed

 

Been to Vernick Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing