We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just blown away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just blown away!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel Monaco is so much more than a place to stay! The photos do not do its extravagant interior justice. The staff is superb. The location -- just catty corner from Independence Hall and across the street from the Liberty Bell -- cannot be beat. Our corner room overlooking the Independence Mall was magnificent --- and did I mention the amazing huge tub??? It's hard to leave the room to go sightseeing. Worth every penny. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view. Imagine seeing the golden gleam of Independence Hall as you slip away in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
NevGranny -

Thank you for staying with us! Those Corner Spa rooms are awesome. Great view. Great tub. I love your description of the "golden gleam". I may borrow that.

Hope to see you again soon!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    476
    131
    47
    21
See reviews for
583
897
93
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
apex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you're in Philly for the historic sites. The Kimpton is diagonal to Independence Hall and next door to the Liberty Bell. Not only do you get the usual Kimpton quality, but you are near everything. Horse carriage rides are right outside the door to help you get an overview of the area. And, you'll be close enough to run into see the Liberty bell right before closing when there is NO line.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Janet W -

Thank you for staying with us. If you need a little more horsepower to tour the area, don't forget we offer bicycles complimentary to our guests to pedal around the city. Hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is a perfect location for seeing Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, etc. all of which are right across the street. It is also close to a subway stop. The hotel is typical Kimpton, a little upscale and a little hip.

There's a tavern attached and a rooftop bar. The tavern is good for breakfast or a light dinner. The rooftop bar service was terrible; we were studiously ignored by several staff, and left after one drink, which I had to order at the bar. Room service breakfast was good and delivered on time. The chocolate croissants are very good. Like all Kimptons, there is a wine hour from 5-6 each day.

We had a spa room with a giant shower that included a soaking tub. The bathroom also has a separate room for the toilet which is convenient. The TV is pretty far away from the bed. Our room had no view at all, we couldn't even tell whether it was sunny or overcast. The housekeeping staff got us an extra umbrella one day without hesitation. The WiFi service was fine, and free if you join the Kimpton loyalty program. I had trouble getting the phone to work except for the speaker phone.

Room Tip: King spa room has a great shower and soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
USAMaineTravelers -

Dirigo! They say Maine is the way life should be, but we're pretty proud of how it is at the Monaco. Sorry to hear that your Stratus experience was less than ideal. It's typically a great spot to have a cocktail or two. Hopefully you'll be back soon and we can make sure you are in one of our Parkview rooms overlooking Independence Mall.

Safe travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location right across from Independence Hall and great service. The rooms have very good beds and wonderful views of Independence Hall and Liberty Bell. Nicely decorated with an Alice in Wonderland theme.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rocio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Rocio D -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco. If it wasn't for all the cool history stuff right outside the hotel, I could easily see how you might want to stay in those beds forever.

Hope to see you again soon,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Service, accommodations and location can't be beat! From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were treated royally. Staff is welcoming - poured us each a glass of wine, explained the building's history. Tracked our time by the gentle ring of Independence Hall clock heard in our room, literally walked across the street to enjoy the park. Dined in the wonderful Red Owl Tavern for breakfast, dinner or appetizers - great food and genuine service. Close enough to walk to catch a ferry to Camden for music, battleship tour. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars, ask for a room with a view of Independence Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Chris R -

Hopefully you spoil yourselves frequently so you can stay with us more often. Thank you for choosing the Monaco. Camden is very accessible from our location, which is great because their riverfront offers a lot to do (minor league baseball, aquarium, Susquehanna Bank Center for concerts and more). Can't wait to see you again.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newrock
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I spent two nights here in a corner suite. I would gladly recommend the hotel and would stay here again. It's in the heart of the historic section of the city, with easy access to everything. The staff is very nice and the decor excellent. The adjacent restaurant, the Red Owl Tavern, is very good as well. Our particular room was large and quite comfortable. Though it was generally quiet, we were on a low floor and could hear louder street noise such as trucks unloading.The only disappointment occurred at check-in when our bags were not delivered to the room. After 20 minutes I returned the front desk and picked them up myself.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
newrock -

Our corner suites are very spacious (with not a bad view!). I am sorry that the trucks interfered with your relaxation. We have a strict business hours only delivery policy and firmly remind our vendors of that whenever they get a little eager. The bag delivery (or lack thereof) is definitely disappointing to hear. You lifting a finger, much less a bag, is not what we have in mind for your stay.

Thank you for staying with us.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It’s hard to comprehend why you would stay anywhere else? Historic renovation, amazing and personalized service, unique designs and so many extras!

This was my second of many stays to come with Kimpton (my first was at the Hotel Triton San Francisco). Upon arrival at the Monaco on a busy Saturday during Wine Hour, we were welcomed by the valet department, greeted by the doorman who opened the door and welcome at the front desk with a big smile! After a quick check-in, we dropped off our bags and returned before the fun Wine Hour finished. No worries, since at Kimpton if you arrive 5 minutes after, they’ll take good care of you!

In our corner room on the 8th floor, we were treated to spacious and clean accommodations with 2 super comfortable queen beds (with lots of pillows). Of course, with my free In Touch Rewards Membership, we also received free Internet and got to raid the mini-bar (granted, $10 doesn’t go that far, but it’s STILL a treat). Our room featured a vintage balcony – though only for show, it appears they are only on the 8th floor, and only in the corner.

Extra touches make the hotel standout – from lights that dim by the bedside, and in the bathroom! Why every hotel does not offer this feature is beyond me. And these were eco-friendly dimmable bulbs too! The old solid structure made for a quiet in-room experience. Even though outside our room was a service area, we never heard a noise. In the room, robes to enjoy, an umbrella should Mother Nature not cooperate, HDTV with cable (I never watched) and a safe for your valuables; and if you must work, a nice desk and comfortable chair. There was also a fancy clock radio and I think it had an IPod docking station. You can borrow a bicycle, store luggage if your flight out is late – or you just want to see more of the city before departing.

The hotel itself resides in the over 100 year old Greek Revival Lafayette Building (named for the Revolutionary War hero General Marquis de Lafayette) and sits in the heart of Independence Hall, and the area of Philadelphia known as Old City. Out the door history awaits at every turn – this is an amazing location for visiting all the area highlights and experiencing the amazing historical markers of Philadelphia. After a day of exploring, in walking distance you’ll find ample restaurants, or a short taxi ride to most locations in Centre City will only run a few dollars.
And there’s no reason to leave the hotel at all because on site you can enjoy a relaxed experience at the Red Owl Tavern, or venture to the roof top and take in sweeping city views at the Stratus Lounge. On our visit, we did make a quick visit to the rooftop lounge early in the evening. It’s a popular spot for locals and visitors alike, so it may or may not be your cup of tea. In which case, you’ll probably love the complimentary Wine Hour nightly from 5 to 6 in the living room (known in most hotels as the lobby). My pictures shared will showcase why it’s anything but a lobby.

At every staff encounter, it was exceptional. Personalized service tailored to fit what each guest desires! No one size fits all recommendations – Kimpton truly makes it special for your needs. Don’t hesitate to ask for their suggestions – we got many and every single one was a hit. Everything from where to get a Cheesesteak or an organic cup of coffee, or where to enjoy octopus at dinner!

It’s only fair to find some area for improvement, and my friend and I agreed the shower head needed replacement – and that’s about all we could find. Nothing to knock off a star – the pressure was good and plenty of warm water. As the hotel advises, retrieving your car can take about 30 minutes – so heed this warning, and if you’re on that tight of a deadline, they’ll let you know to give it more time! When we arrived, there was a wedding party who had control of 2 of the 4 elevators (yes, annoying), so our wait to catch one was longer than expected (especially with luggage). Otherwise, there was never a delay, and all 4 did a good job of serving the hotel needs.

I would recommend and return in a heartbeat to this or any other Kimpton!

Green Features: The guest room featured lighting in the room and the bathroom on dimmer switches. In room recycle bins were available too.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historytraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
historytraveler27 -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco for your return Kimpton engagement. Given your obvious love of history, it seems like you made an awesome choice. You don't have to leave the hotel based on all we have to offer, but we strongly encourage given how much there is to do within just a couple of blocks of our location in Old City.

We will take a look at our shower heads and see if there is room for improvement. Thank you for the head's up.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,177 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing