We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value in Philadelphia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We enjoyed three days at the Hotel Monaco. The location was perfect and the value was ideal. Our only complaint was the room was relatively small. I thought the bathroom was also a bit small but my wife enjoyed the large bathtub. The complimentary wine hour at 5 pm was a nice touch. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janavratil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
janavratil -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco! Given the historic roots of our building, there were a number of structural elements we built around that lead to a lot of room layout variability. Additionally we have a number of different room types that can provide more space (suites or spa rooms for starters). Happily your wife was happy which I think we can all agree is the most important thing.

Hope to see you again soon.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    477
    131
    48
    22
See reviews for
585
899
93
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This wast first visit to a Kimpton property, but based on my experiences it won't be my last. Every mark of customer service
and hotel quality was "spot on". All staff excelled at making me feel welcome, safe and important. Upon arrival, I was greeted by Brad who escorted me into the hotel, made sure there was no delay in connecting with registration staff and offered assistance with getting around the city. Rashid in guest services is a "rock star", going beyond expectations to offer extra touches to help start the day. Solomon patiently greets each guest and is a great listener. The time he spends to acknowledge people is quite special. The location, service quality and genuine sense of hospitality sets this property in a class onto itself!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetsMyVote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
GetsMyVote -

You met some of our rockstars to be sure and I'm especially happy to see you got a chance to meet Solomon! He works silently (often times) on the overnight, but I think you described his style to a "t". He is a tremendous asset and we are truly appreciative of his service. And we appreciate you choosing us as well.

Regards -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is literally across the street from a full couple days of classic Americana activities.
The liberty bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's gravesite, etc. etc. etc.
Best location in downtown Philly. Cool lobby area, friendly staff, and great rooms. Very comfortable for families. Great for kids-well decorated. Important taxi note: If you are heading out somewhere, take a right out of the main entrance, take the first right and walk one block to grab a cab. If you don't it will take you ten minutes and $8 extra bucks to maneuver through the one way streets and construction.

Room Tip: Try to face the Liberty Bell building side of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is always eco-friendly. Great recycling and cool amenities that reduce packaging, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fpk932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
fpk932 -

While most of the city is very walkable from here, you are correct that occasionally a taxi might be preferred (if not required). Being strategic about grabbing one on a street that is oriented to the direction you are going can certainly help. If you opt to venture out on your own (instead of having a doorman flag one for you), we can help point you in the right direction.

Safe travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I stayed at Hotel Monaco over the 4th of July Holiday, which I thought was going to be chaotic and unenjoyable. I couldn't have been more wrong. The facility itself is second to none. It's extremely clean and has tremendous character. The staff made you feel right at home.

Another great aspect of the hotel is the rooftop lounge. It's like no other drinking spot in the city. It has a perfect balance of fun and class.

I know for now on anytime I book a hotel room in Philly I'm staying at Hotel Monaco!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Michael B -

We are at the epicenter of Independence, so there is definitely a lot going on that weekend, not the least of which is the parade closing off every street adjacent to the hotel for about 10 hours. But it is a good fun, and I am happy to hear we successfully helped you navigate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco Philadelphia this 4th of July weekend and it was amazing! The rooms, the service, the food, the downstairs bar, the rooftop lounge, everything was just perfect. I highly recommend this hotel for people visiting this great city!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rockybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Rockybrad -

You picked a great time to celebrate with us. The significance of the 4th of July to these city blocks cannot be understated. An incredibly unique, fun time to stay here. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Spent the 4th of July weekend here and LOVED everything. The Hotel is amazing the location is awesome
And the staff was incredible and made us all feel like we were the only people there, the attention blew my mind. I will definitely be back! Absolutely perfect!!!!
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry081711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Larry081711 -

Thank you very much for choosing the Monaco! I am thrilled to hear we were able to provide the individual attention we expect for all of our guests. Hope to see you back soon!

Cheers -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This past week my family was in town for a wedding in Philadelphia. From valet parking to checking out, everything was a breeze! Staying with a large group can be tricky when it comes to eating and retrieving vehicles. We were not only accommodated, but met with a smile everywhere we went. Some things/spaces we took advantage of were "Wine Hour", Red Owl Tavern for brunch, and Stratus Rooftop Lounge. Hotel Monaco turned out to be much more than a place to rest our heads, it was a wonderful experience. My husband and I definitely plan to return for a date night!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Tiffany B -

Thanks to you and your family for celebrating your special occasion with us! Make sure your husband doesn't drag his feet on the date night. If he needs any prodding, feel free to give me a call.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing