We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves #1 rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deserves #1 rating”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have never stayed in a Tripadvisor #1 rated hotel before ... but this clearly merits the top rating! Lovely, large room; excellent and friendly service; great location for the historic area. Also appreciated the free wine service at 5 pm. We stayed four nights and couldn't be more satisfied. Our only disappointment was the restaurant - pleasant enough, but over-priced and uneven service. Will definitely look for other Monaco hotels on future travel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Joe B -

Thanks for the endorsement (not to mention for choosing us)! Hopefully you'll return to this Monaco but the variety of them is tempting (Alexandria, DC, Salt Lake, Chicago, SF, Denver, soon to be Pittsburgh). All of them have unique styles but the same focus on our guest experience.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,898
    498
    143
    51
    24
See reviews for
632
945
97
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Service was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and perfect with great beds. Nice tounches on all of the decor. Kids loved the Alice in Wonderland riddles they founf in abok on the shelf. Location cannot be beat - next to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. Walked everywhere but took a cab to the art museums. Lots of weddings running thru the hotel so if you stay on a weekend, make sure to stay on a non-wedding party floor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank combopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
combopie -

Sometimes it feels like I have fallen down the rabbit hole myself with all the unique, quirky design elements hidden throughout the hotel. Not to mention the location right next to the most historic block in the US! We are popular with couples choosing to celebrate their nuptials, but we're always focused on making sure all celebrations are happy ones for everyone.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Monaco in Dec 2013 on our first trip to Philadelphia to see the Eagles. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Rooms were comfortable and interestingly decorated and staff were fantastic. The restaurant staff could not have been friendlier and seemed genuinely interested in talking to use about Philadelphia Eagles and offering tips on places to visit and the many food choices in this fantastic city. Would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear fkerry -

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip across the pond. Sorry the Eagles couldn't be more accommodating, but this city loves them win or lose - and the Mayor will stop what he's doing to talk about them with anyone willing to listen. Hopefully we will see you before next football season. The Phillies will be here losing all summer!

Happy travels -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This place was terrific. Beautiful building, terrific rooms, best location. The doorman Brad was great! Made us feel like we were family! We stayed here for one night, prior to flying to Nashville to stay at tr Hotel Hermitage, where believe it or not Brad's friend (also named Brad!) is a doorman! Philly Brad sent Nashville Brad a message and when we arrived to the Hermitage we were welcomed like family! What an experience! Great rooftop bar here and another great tavern on ground floor. Hotel Monaco is our go to place in Philly from now on!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jreichle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
jreichle -

That's an awesome connection! While I'm pretty sure all Brads are not doormen, and all doormen are not Brads, clearly 100% of doormen named Brad are really good at taking care of our guests. Thank you for staying with us. If/when Kimpton opens a Nashville hotel, I know who our doorman has to be.

Best,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I came to Philadelphia to attend a wedding at a nearby venue. It was a wonderful two days. There was a copy of "Alice in Wonderland" in our room and, indeed, it felt like we were in "Wonderland". The room decor had a whimsical feeling to it. The bed had a good firm mattress and the shower was excellent. Everything that could make you comfortable in a hotel was either in the room or provided immediately upon request. The gym, located on the second floor, is not large but has all the equipment necessary to get a complete workout. Everything is fresh and clean. Service is prompt and pleasant. The location is right in the heart of the historical district. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance and a nice, fairly casual one in the hotel. It is good to know in advance that it takes about 20 minutes for your car to be brought up by the valet. We found this out when waiting to leave to drive to the airport. All in all, we had a wonderful time at this beautiful, friendly hotel. We certainly plan on returning to the Club Monaco in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful, but did not have a view of the city. It is probably wise to request one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
sailorsandy -

Thank you for staying with us! Hopefully we'll see you again when the weather is more Miami like. Sounds like you took advantage of almost everything we had to offer...but did you know we offer free fitness classes too? Wednesdays we have Lithe in the AM and Cardio-boxing with our doorman T in the PM. Great way to meet some other guests and mix up your workout routine. And why not?! You're on vacation after all.

Cheers -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Loved this hotel. From the moment I received my confirmation email from the concierge a few days before my arrival (he was so thoughtful and helpful) to my checkout, everyone I dealt with was professional, pleasant and helpful. The room décor was very chic and updated. I attended a wedding reception which took place on the rooftop bar for cocktails and then dinner etc. in the ballroom. They did a super job with everything. The fact that they are pet-friendly is also a huge plus. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the historic district. I will stay here again if I return to Philly. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Karen P -

Andrew, our concierge, is pretty amazing. He tries to connect with everyone prior to their arrival and he is super passionate (not to mention encyclopedic in his knowledge) about Old City.

Definitely sounds like a fun wedding - I think I need more of your friends!

Safe travels

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The decor here is amazing in the lobby, common areas, and guest rooms. Local flare shows through down to the special Rocky style robe. all the usual Kimpton amenities are there for your enjoyment. The location near all the historical attractions can't be beat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Mary B -

The Rocky robe is entirely unique to our property. We want to make sure we deliver the Philly experience just as much as the Kimpton experience. That's why you were here after all! Thanks again for visting - we look forward to seeing you again.

Best -

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing