We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monaco Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night over memorial day weekend last year and had a pretty good time. I think Kimptons are fairly overrated, but it was a nice place. The "raid the minibar" coupon and free internet for being a member were great. The room itself was pretty nice, but very small. The fitness center was really great. All employees we dealt with were very friendly. The free wine hour is a nice touch. We liked the location, in old town but close enough to Rittenhouse and Reading Market. It's worth comparing rates, but we would not pay any more for it over many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear IAD_ORD -

Ouch! Et tu Brute! While I'm taking it completely personally that you think Kimpton is overrated, I will concede I'm entirely biased. But on the other hand - I'm happy you had a "pretty good time" and good enough to offer some great feedback 8 months later!

Looking forward to earning a properly rated label from you in the future.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here during a weekend trip to Philadelphia. The weather had been very chilly and it was wonderful being welcomed to the hotel with a roaring fire in the fireplace of the hotel lobby. The staff were friendly and efficient. We loved the decor in the lobby and in our hotel room (a standard king bedroom on the 9th floor). The attention to detail was great. The bed was very cozy. I usually remove throw pillows from the bed right away, and as I did this I did find some stray blond hairs on one of the throw pillows. The bathroom was very clean; the glass partition separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom could stand to be a few inches longer as water tended to splash out from the shower while in use. Also, we would have appreciated one more towel bar in the bathroom (one bar is not enough for 2 people). Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay here, loved all the colorful details and the location in the city was central to our points of interest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear thatgirl77 -

Thank you for choosing the Monaco on your trip to Philadelphia. You certainly picked a beautiful time to enjoy all the city has to offer when you flew in from LA. Next time the attention to detail will be perfect and not just great (sorry we missed on a couple of things).

Take care and stay warm,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Alice in the Wonderland theme is relaxing. Good gym w 24 hrs access. Could have been better if there is kettle for boiling water. Jet lag traveller would appreciate a cup of hot drinks while they are working away on laptop.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank EYSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear EliciaSL Y -

The good news is that we do have hot water kettles available in the rooms - just ask! Tea, wine, and wonderland - does sound ideal for relaxing. Thanks for choosing the Monaco.

Safe travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Kimpton has really figured out how to do things beautifully across the board and is my favorite hotel group.

After receiving a birthday month promotion offer, I booked a one night stay for a quick getaway to Philly.

Upon a very early arrival, the room was not ready, but I got a call from the hotel as soon as it was. The room on the 6th floor was beautiful. Very spacious with that amazing spa tub! I have never actually floated in a tub before.

The staff at check in was charming and lovely as always, wishing me a happy birthday at every turn. They even sent up some fruit and a slice of birthday cake.

Even though there was a little bit of a line to check out, the staff took the time to ask how my stay had been, what I did during my stay, where I ate, etc. When I mentioned that I was going for cheesesteak, I was offered great advice on where to go and what to avoid.

As always, Monaco simply cannot be beat for making their guests feel welcome and comfortable in a beautiful environment. Perfection.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the spa tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear meliberk -

Happy birthday - thank you for celebrating with us. It is our guests that make what we do look so effortless - so thank you for your continued loyalty. In my mind - I have condensed your survey to floating in a giant tub of cheesesteaks. Which would be amazing of course...and reflects your stay with us. Thrilled we were able to deliver again.

Happy travels,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I live a couple hundred miles away from Philadelphia, and we often make the drive down for weekends away. We usually stay at the Palomar (another Kimpton hotel in Philly), but decided to give the Monaco a try for a change.

We booked the Parkview King Room and our initial room was disappointing. We weren't happy with a second floor room with the only view being of the people walking on the busy street. We went back to the front desk to ask for a change, and although the woman who handled our check in wasn't quite as friendly as the first time around, she exchanged our room for one on the 8th floor that was much better.

The room was wonderfully appointed. The decor is loud but really fun. Comfortable bed and good bathroom and shower.

Our only other troubles were music from somewhere in the hotel that played well into the night, and a valet who pocketed a $5 bill from our car's cup holder.

All in all, the Monaco was a good hotel, but for our next trip we'll go back to the Palomar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gco87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear gco87 -

Thank you for trekking down from the great white north to give us a try. The music was either coming from our rooftop lounge, Stratus, or a neighbor having a great time. Sorry it wasn't quite good enough to keep you dancing all night long. I am troubled by the missing $5 bill and have followed up with our valet company as the disappearance of your personal items is clearly a serious issue that we would have no tolerance for. Hopefully, you will give us another shot, but if we have to lose you, at least it's in the family.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our daughter and new son in law were married this weekend in Old City Philadelphia. We had 80 of our 200 guests stay the weekend at the Hotel Monaco. From the day we made the first reservation Nikoletta Fotiadis and Carrie McGeehan could not have been more helpful. The entire staff was very accommodating starting with Sean and his wonderful welcoming personality , at the front door as well as Rocky, who handled all the bags and packages. The front desk staff was friendly, professional and accommodating. You even get a great history lesson from Andrew. Happy hour in the lobby every evening was a nice surprise. Our guests loved the beautiful rooms and the suites were the perfect size for the bridal party preparations. The day of the wedding the bridal party had hair and make up done in the suite with a beautiful view of Independance Hall. We finished the weekend Sunday morning with a delicious brunch for 80 in the beautiful ballroom, again with views of Independence Hall. Sasha Bharat did a great job helping us plan for the brunch. Once more the staff was wonderful. We had a visit from the banquet manager , Michael Kaitz, to see if they had met our needs. We could not be more pleased with our choice of the Hotel Monaco for the wedding weekend.

Room Tip: Corner suites and rooms with a view of Independence Hall are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBMMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear MBMMW -

I think you might have met everyone on staff. I'm thrilled that everything went off without a hitch. And now you can think of it as not losing a daughter but gaining a favorite hotel (and son-in-law). Hopefully we'll see you many more times in future.

Congratulations!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were visiting Philly for the weekend to celebrate a birthday. Overall, the stay was quite good and we will most likely return to this hotel, but there were some service issues with stay.

The Good:

The location was perfect for us in Old City. We are not familiar with the city and found it perfect for our 'newbie' visit to the city.

The decor is quite and nice and appears to be well maintained (not sure if new or not).

The room was perfect (see 'not so' note below) - well designed, good furniture, comfortable bed and wonderful view of Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell outside our window. In general a very nice, welcoming room.

The Not-So-Good:

When we go to the room we discovered that the garbage cans had not been emptied from the previous tenants - while getting drinks downstairs housekeeping cleared them out. We hadn't noticed before, but when retiring for the night we found a dirty towel in the shower and we were missing hand towels and wash cloths. At that point we decided to just go to bed (it was late).

I will note that on the second day housekeeping seemed to do a perfect job on the room.

There two small issues with bathroom, but very minor - one of the lights kept going out. At first we thought it was a bulb, but it would turn on every other time you needed it. The other was the hair dryer had a broken handle - again, very minor points but may color your impression of the hotel.

We had ordered breakfast in our room on the last day before heading home - this was a big mistake on our part. Once the time for the meal had come and gone we called down to find out what the delay was. The impression on the phone was they misplaced our order. They were very apologetic and gave a discount on the order and rushed it up as soon as they could (~15 minutes). Unfortunately it was not our full order. Another call, another apology and our full order was finally delivered about 45 minutes late.

The staff I interacted in this case took responsibility for this mistake, were polite and professional. We were quite satisfied on how they handled the issue (although we would have preferred our meal on time).

Finally - the valet service. I would advise not using it. This may just be a pet peeve of ours, but the whole experience was not good. They have texting service where you text your ticket number and they will have your car 'waiting for you' in 20 minutes. This service just returns an error message to your phone (there were several people in the lobby with the same issue). After requesting our car, we watched party after party request and get their vehicles while we waited. Our '20 minute' wait was over 45 minutes.

Upon entering our car, the radio had been changed and it was obvious that someone had been hanging out in the passenger seat. Again - pet peeves, but when paying $40/day for parking we like think some basic courtesy for the car is in order.

In general - we felt the staff were very courteous and friendly and will most likely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenMc_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHM_HotelManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear BenMc_44

A belated Happy Birthday! I wish there had been fewer surprises with your stay - at least fewer in the form of poor valet service, housekeeping issues, and spotty room service. All of those are surprises to me as our staff is capable of delivering a much better experience than this. I assure you that next time you stay there will be much more in the good column than the not so good one.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
830 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $168 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing