We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt luxurious for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt luxurious for a reasonable price”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Quirky, oversize decor here made it very stylish indeed. Comfy king beds, nice bathrooms (although it would have been great if there had been a tub, not just showers.) Helpful and pleasant staff, glamourous lobby with quiet corners to hang put, nice coffee-table Art Books to look at, urns of fruit or cuke ice water to guzzle. And they allowed us to bring our small dog! Wow! The only drawbacks were we had two rooms that wound up being 5 floors apart. My kids, 11 and 15, are old enough to be ok with that, but I was a little apprehensive, anyway. The key card system that operates the elevators was a little nervewracking with kids on another floor. They couldn't come to our room without their key card. The location was perfect for sightseeing - across the street from Independence Hall, and steps away from great, funky restaurants of the Old City neighborhood. Including the best kept secrets regarding cheesesteaks; Sonny's and Campo's, on Market Street. Also a twenty minute walk from Reading Terminal Market AND Ben Franklin's grave, so you can't beat that!

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing west, over the park and Independence Hall, that's really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kava63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    480
    134
    50
    22
See reviews for
592
908
94
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

As usual, you won't be disappointed in choosing a Kimpton property. Besides the afternoon wine cocktail or the free coffee in the morning, the thoughtfulness of the staff (in particular I would like to mention Octavia, Priya and a young man whose name I do not know) exceeds every expectation.
The hotel is very cozy (and, like every Kimpton hotel, has fashionable details and a touch of originality). I like colours, so this boutique hotel is perfect for my tastes. Rooms are incredibly spacious (even too much!), as it is the bathroom with finest amenities. The hall is magnificent, with a vibrant and modern decor very much. Also the restaurant is excellent, and I would suggest to try it. The location is perfect indeed, right in the heart of Philly. Unfortunately, we staid here for only one night !

Room Tip: Try the restaurant (it's not a suggestion about rooms, but I think it is worth mentioning it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TongBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Monaco on Saturday and enjoyed our stay. The wine Happy Hour from 5-6pm was great and guest service brought up hypoallergenic pillows upon request. Everything was great until we checked out and the valet brought around our car. The front license plate was sheared off the front bumper. We called the hotel from the road and asked them to find it. We did not call to find the culprit but merely to find the front license plate so we can remount it and avoid going to the DMV and paying $135+ for replacement plates. We were promised a callback, but nobody ever called. Having booked the room through Priceline for $100+tax, the replacement of the license plate will cost more then a night in the Hotel Monaco.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the Liberty Bell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here this weekend! The staff were very accommodating and responded to our requests. The hotel is beautiful and the kids loved all of the fun details. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchpicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hotel Monaco is not a stereo- typical hotel. The rooms are beautiful. The Hotel Monaco is in a great location. It is right across the street from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. All the historical attractions of Philly are near the hotel. The service is excellent! The valets were super nice and remembered our names. The front desk was also very helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant was very good. Overall, The Hotel Monaco was very nice and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay the hotel is in a great location in Old City Philadelphia; walkable to most historic sites. We also loved the hotel itself from the fun decor, wine hour and friendly staff I would definitely return. Also liked the Red Owl tavern attached to the hotel food was good and they offered a good beer selection.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpfriel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First a quick overview of my stay:

When I booked it, I booked a Corner King Spa Room for not only the great tub and shower combo but also because their website promised great views of the independence hall area.

When I arrived at 5pm my room was still not ready. After about 5 minutes of the staff trying to decide what they were going to do they upgraded me to a one bedroom suite. Hurray me!!! or so I thought.

The one room suite I received room 301 had the view of the back of the front entrance and the tips of trees. The view of independence hall and the park across the street was completely blocked.

Also every hour the bell at independence hall rings and it does this all night long. So if your a lite sleeper this could give you problems. They did offer to move me but I declined thinking it wouldn't be that big of a problem.

The restaurant they have the Red Owl Tavern is subpar at best. The prices are extremely high for the quality of food and service. One morning I ordered an egg white omelet that was huge. Unfortunately it was 80% vegetables 15% cheese and 5% egg.


Pros:
Great location
Hotel Staff is awesome
Rooms are clean and large, at least the suites are
Hotel reasonably priced for area
Fitness center is larger then most hotels
Tub/shower is awesome
free yoga mat in the rooms
roof top bar

Cons:
Blocked view in room 301
Ringing Bell every hour, not their fault but still annoying
Restaurant staff is slow and food is subpar
minibar prices are insane, $8 for M&Ms
elevators are super tiny you can get about 4 people in them.
only one window in living room area and then a giant curtained wall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minorthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing