We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and "living room"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great rooms and "living room"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Love this hotel!!! Rooms are fabulous. Check in located in a great lobby they call a living room. Excellent fruited water on tap all day, wine event in living room in evening is relaxing and wines are good. The service staff and doormen are EXCELLENT - very helpful. Front desk staff is pleasant and helpful, but not very good on follow thru. When checking in, asked for concierage type of help, but nothing came of my requests. Seems they have a lot of people at the check in desk, but no one really listening to my requests. Location of this hotel is Perfect for sightseeing. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jenehr,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am very happy to read that you had a great time and found the staff to be EXCELLENT! Sorry to hear about the lack of follow thru, I appreciate the feedback and will follow up with the team on this one.

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    477
    131
    47
    21
See reviews for
583
898
93
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
key west
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Monaco from February 21 to the 25. The location could not be beat! Right next to all the historical attractions and great restaurants! The staff at the front door and the front desk were always so polite and friendly, everyone was always eager to be helpful. There were a few kinks in our stay. For whatever reason housekeeping was a disaster. Our second day we did not want any housekeeping service. On the third day we did. We had ordered room service to the room and once we were finished with the trays, I placed them on the floor. Housekeeping never ever collected the trays or took out the garbage. We then set the trays outside our door and there they stayed the rest of our trip, outside our room in the hallway. The housekeeper only made our bed. Didn't clean the tub or leave us toiletries. We also had a leak in the bathroom next to our tub. The engineer came to look at the leak and said we would have a $50 credit, which we never saw on our bill. To us theses were minor issues. The hotel is new and every thing is interestingly decorated. They did upgrade us to a nicer room upon our arrival. There's a night club on the roof that is very trendy and is the happening place on the weekends. The restaurant next door is alright, nothing special. Overall we did enjoy our stay and we will be staying with Kimpton again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jennier p,

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to see that overall you enjoyed your trip with us. I did take note to the challenges you experienced and I will be sure to follow up with the respective department heads so these can be addressed.

Thanks again for the feedback, hope to welcome you back.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

reservations were very easy to make. check in and out were just as accommodating to a tight travel schedule. Unfortunately I had little time to enjoy the hotel. Bed was very comfortable and room very tastefully but well decorated and laid out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDaveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
The Dave G,

Happy to see you enjoyed your stay, we wish it could have been longer so you could have experienced more!

Come back and see us again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
419 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We loved the hotel! I love the room designs, the fruit waters in the lobby, the location, pretty much everything! They even let you borrow a goldfish to keep in your room over your stay. They have wine tastings at 5pm and coffee/teas in the morning - lots of great amenities. You can't go wrong for staying here. A couple things I would have enjoyed here: A couple more towel hooks in the bathroom - there was only one and I was trying to reuse instead of swap for new towels every day. Also, the parking is pricey at $40/night...the issue is on Sunday when you are trying to check out, the valet says that it takes 30 minutes to get your car - and how the front desk should have warned us. They didn't warn us, but my thought is that if they all know it takes 30 minutes to get cars during the checkout time on Sunday - why not hire more valets for a couple hours?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel Monaco is the best place to stay in Philadelphia. The location, just across from Independence Hall is unparalleled. The rooms are whimsical and the beds are wonderful. Add in the wine hour and the courteous, helpful staff, and it just doesn't get any better than this hotel.

Room Tip: Many rooms only have a shower. If you like a bath, ask for one with a combo tub/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Point, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel Monaco
We visited in October but are just getting around to submitting our review. This property had just opened in the past couple of weeks and is amazing. The entire property is eclectic and it works. Our room overlooked Independance Hall, a room we were upgraded to at no cost. The staff was amazing. Very enthusiastic and they have definately bought in to the Kimpton midset. Our server at dinner, for example, was Marly. She knew the menu - which was very good- and despite being a new employee, she knew about the hotel and the company. She was very outgoing and knowedgable about the menu, hotel and the company behind the hotel. Our impression of the staff as just being "nice" is apparently in the corporate culture as she descibed having recently served the Kimpton COO and CEO. The way she descibed them was how we felt about the staff from doorman to front desk. They were friendly, enthusiastic and just wanted to please their customers and create a memorable experience - one you want to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Independance Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adkski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
422 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is very nice and centrally located in Old City. The staff were curtious and efficient. The room was fine and we enjoyed our stay. there was one little problem with the linens that kept me from giving this a Outstanding review. However, I'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing