We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great addition to Philadelphia hotel scene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great addition to Philadelphia hotel scene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The wife and I stayed here after having spent a night in a Sheraton nearby. Night and day, to say the least. The hotel can still be considered new, but any growing pains have long since abated. The front-desk staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We arrived just as they were finishing up the nightly wine hour. As an alternative, they gave us a $25 beverage credit, which we later used at the rooftop bar.
The decor of our spacious room was hip, modern, even sassy, without being self-conscious about it. The bed was among the most comfortable I've slept on, and the bathroom amenities were top shelf.
Beyond being a great place to stay, the hotel has a primo location, right off Independence Square. It also puts you in walking distance of a lot of restaurants and other Center City essentials.
The $40 valet parking charge is what it is. Meaning, that's what you'll pay at virtually every other downtown hotel. Steep, but street parking is in short supply and the Philadelphia Parking Authority is merciless if you don't feed the meter in a timely fashion.
We look forward to our next stay there. If you haven't gone, it'd be worth your while to see what the fuss is all aobut.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Murrayhill,

Happy to hear you and the wife enjoyed your visit with us! We greatly appreciate all the positive feedback.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,760
    469
    129
    45
    21
See reviews for
574
891
92
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend during the soft opening of the property. As I have said on previous reviews of Kimpton properties or restaurants, Kimpton does it right. They are a consistent brand of quality. The entire hotel is beautiful. We did not eat at the restaurant, but used the rest of the property so I cannot comment about the on-site restaurant. The hotel rooms are very nice, cozy, clean and well appointed. The gym is one of the nicest gyms that I have been in at a hotel. The rooftop lounge is very nice. It gets crowded late, so definitely get there early. It is a great location for a drink and a small bite. The Staff is something that Kimpton can hang its hat on. They serve and will do anything possible to take care of you. The hotel is a great new addition to the Kimpton Hotel family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heartjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Heartjersey,

WOW! Thank you for such a wonderful review. I agree with you about the service here, I can honestly say that this one of the best teams I have ever worked for. Everyone is excited and wants every guest to walk out of here smiling!

Thanks again and please come see us again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Hanging My Hat on the Service All Day Long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Monaco in Philadelphia. The hotel is brand new, and the rooms are beautiful. We worked out in the gym, enjoyed the free wine hour, and enjoyed the benefits of our InTouch program by getting free internet and a coupon for the minibar. I just can't say enough about the friendliness and level of accommodation by the staff. Every single person had a smile on his or her face. Brian the concierge left us a wonderful gift basket for a special occasion. The housekeepers left us a cheery note every day. One night we missed the wine hour, and the woman at reception gave us each a glass of wine on the house in the adjoining restaurant. All of these things add up to a wonderful stay. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Kelley T,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! I never get tired of reading about how wonderful the employees are here. I will be sure to personally thank Brian for a job well done and for taking extra special care of you guys.

Come back soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Since we visited this place about two weeks ago, it has already risen on the list to number one and for a very good reason. The staff - like I always say - make the place and this is so true of this hotel. Everyone is very friendly, courteous, and helpful. I do not know how they find such wonderful staff. The rooms are incredibly clean, well laid out, and such a fun design. The added perks of being a Kimpton Member, free coffee in the morning (very good coffee by the way), and the evening social hour - WOW. I just love seeing all the dogs. My daughter just wishes they would have dogs on hand for the weekend (like the goldfish). The location is ideal for sight seeing and Olde City is right there with a plethora of dining and bar options for the evening. Way to go Hotel Monaco for once again turning an old building into a wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Although our room faced the back alley and another building, we loved every minute in this room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyMilesStill2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Welcome home Agscott,

Thank you for staying with us again! I am happy to see we have risen to #1 on your list, we greatly appreciate that award. I agree the team here is one of the best and they live and breathe customer service.

Can’t wait to welcome you home on your next trip.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Vice President of Being #1 on Agscott's List
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Kimpton Hotels in other cities. We live right across the bridge from Philly and wanted to stay in the city for New Years Eve. We were going to stay here then have dinner, drinks celebrations at another spot in the city. We did it all at the Monaco! They have an amazing restaurant and a rooftop lounge. First the stay, the location is amazing right behind independence hall with super easy access to everything downtown. The place is Immaculate, super hip style but not over done. The lobby was beautiful and the staff amazing. The room well that is just the cherry on top. We stayed in the King Deluxe Spa and it was so worth it. First the soaking tub kept my wife in for hours and the shower was another amazing delight. The room was enormous and the bed, comforter and sheets were a delight. I highly recommend you stay in Philly stay at the Monaco!! Oh join the Kimpton Rewards FREE WIFI.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopGeekNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks Mondonj!!!

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments.

Hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Short and sweet review - true Kimpton experience - they know what works and how to do it! From the prompt friendly check in (and personal recognition, being an InTouch member), to the funky yet comfortable rooms and decor throughout. The doormen are always so friendly, and set the tone for the rest of the stay. Complimentary happy hour is always a plus, and a way to meet new people. The Red Owl Tavern was one of my best meals out in a LONG time. Wherever we go, we look for a Kimpton hotel and always book with them.

Room Tip: Overlooking Independence Park is a great view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hey Margaritadee,

WOW what a great review! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience.

Don’t be a stranger and come back soon!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a fun place to stay. The Hotel Monaco was a great experience for me and my boyfriend. The decor was very fun and trendy. The service was amazing...you feel very welcomed and important. Then bellman were quick to provide suggestions of great places to check out. Both the rooftop and restaurant were great, so check them out. Remember to sign up for their rewards program to get free internet and a bar credit. Also there's a nightly happy hour in the hotel lobby...free drinks! The hotel location can't be beat you are right next to the liberty bell and we also were able to hop on a bus tour of the entire city just around the corner from the hotel. My only gripes were the lack of good lighting the room and the shower set up...it was slippery and water came out since it's a contemporary doorless set-up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adougla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Adougla2,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share with others! I am happy to see that overall you had a fantastic time. I did take note of the lighting and the shower, I will be sure to follow up with our engineering team.

Thanks again,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing