We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Hotel”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just stayed for two nights at the new Philly Hotel Monaco. What a great place!! We took advantage of special prepaid rates offered before the opening, so got to stay in a one bedroom suite for a very good price. It was gorgeous, so comfortable and spacious! And the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had two dinners at their Red Owl Tavern, and it was delicious both nights. The location is outstanding: Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are right outside the door. I love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSBOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    490
    140
    50
    24
See reviews for
614
932
96
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is so nice. The people that work there are so pleasant to deal with. Every single one of them were helpful and polite. The hotel is beautiful! The lobby is so nice and the rooms are even nicer. They have Valet parking at the hotel and its $40 that they charge to your room. But if you want to park somewhere cheaper there is a parking garage a block down on 4th street that is cheaper. But only if you don't plan on taking your car out at all. If you plan on coming and going your best bet is to just use the valet parking. The location of the hotel is also amazing. You are right across the street from the liberty bell and a bunch of great places to eat. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone I know. Def sign up for their loyalty program. It's free and you get free wifi and $10 credit to the mini bar in your room. There is not one bad thing i can think of to say about this place.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and had no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smashk4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I commonly stay at Kimpton Hotels and booked this one through Priceline. This was a fantastic deal, beautiful hotel in a great location. I travel via Amtrak and I was pleased that it was walking distance to the terminal as well as Septa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our recent stay couldn't have been better & way beyond expectations. The hotel thought of everything possible to make our stay memorable.
Thank you Hotel Monaco!
The restaurant was extremely reason & very good menu options.
Love the wine hour.
The bed comfort was heaven. Perfect service. Extremely comfortable room.
Good location.
ETC ETC - loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjanvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for a night when we were in town to see Dave Mathews Band. It was fantastic, clean and new, the staff could not have been nicer, everyone from doormen to front end staff. The decor is fun and cheerful, "whimsical" (as someone else wrote) is a good description; decor is definitely over the top for my home but I love it as "vacation" design. Will definitely stay here again when in Philly and we are looking forward to checking out other Kimpton hotels around the country. We have been hooked on Kimpton since staying at Hotel Marlowe in Boston.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor and though the view was not great, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtktms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchestry Cty, NY
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Loved the hotel, clean new, and great service. Rooms well appointed and comfortable, but a bit small. Common area is nice. Staff was very helpful and went the extra mile. The restaurant in the lobby is the only downside of the property. Their staff are not helpful, the menu is limited and the service is nothing like the hotel. This is a classic case of a restaurant ruining a guest's hotel stay. The hostess literally sent me to a nearby Starbucks rather than find a way to get me a cup of coffee to go.

I would return, in hope others feel the same way!!

Room Tip: Get view of independence mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMRDAR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This new addition to the Kimpton chain continues the lavish quality that is synonymous with their other properties. The location is ideal for both sightseeing (in the heart of historic Philadelphia) and nightlife (just a few blocks from trendy South Street.) The staff is friendly and the accommodations are pristine. The attached bar/restaurant is worth the venture.

Room Tip: Select the corner rooms - the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houdini81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing