We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hotel Monaco in Philadelphia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Hotel Monaco in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great new hotel in Philadelphia. I recently spent 20 nights there on an extended business trip. The hotel is in a great historic building, right next to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell etc., and in a great historical area with good restaurants. Very smartly set up and modern decorated rooms, very clean, and business friendly. Nice clientele too. The staff could not have been more helpful, setting up rental cars, restaurants, business package deliveries, laundry, etc. I will be back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a view of Independence Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    450
    120
    41
    18
See reviews for
555
841
88
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and were extremely impressed. The staff were very accommodating, especially Rachid with Guest Services. He went out of his way to answer questions, provide information, etc. Our visit included an office holiday party with a sit-down dinner which was magnificent. Everyone raved about the food and service. The decor was truly amazing - very different from your standard hotel designs. I would definitely stay here again when traveling to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amco6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am very impressed with the service I received from the staff at this hotel. The atmosphere was very aesthetically pleasing and the design is superb. If you enjoy keeping up to date with your workout, the Monaco’s fitness center rivals many other hotels. I also enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting hour and the free goodies in the lobby. Young or old, this hotel has it! From the rooftop club to the quiet, comfortable room, this well-kept, clean hotel has earned my business for future visits, no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel relatively new to Philadelphia was full of odd decor, but everyone was more than willing to help me out with a number of requests; from printing out my boarding pass, to offering me directions to attractions in the area the staff truly made me feel welcome at the Monaco. The guestrooms are spacious, the decor again is unusual in nature (but then again this is part of the appeal of the Kimpton brand) - but bright compared to other brands of hotels that could look the same in any part of the world and lack creativity. I had a room overlooking the park which was nice. The only downside to my stay was two-fold; first the shower pressure, I think I took one of my longest showers in my life while there and the bathroom wasn't lit appropriately as the shower was tucked in a corner far from the light. Second, the nearest train station wasn't very walkable with a suitcase in tow (how I came from airport). All in all, I was a very satisfied client for the amount paid and if ever in Philly again I would certainly consider the Monaco again!

Room Tip: Ask to look over the park - the view was pleasant :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rochid from guest services and the door staff were AWESOME. They were consumate professionals, on beat and didn't miss anything. Thank you Rochid, Rocky, The General , and the other door staffmen that made my stay very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellarose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night just to get away and we were impressed by this new hotel. It was SO convenient to Philly attractions. Cool layout, good staff and really funky (and comfy) rooms.

Do not miss the roof top bar!

Room Tip: face liberty bell and independence hall - cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelInspiresMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I grew up in Philly and have about five family overnights per year there as many of my relatives remain there. I have stayed at all the major hotels in Philly, previously settling on the Sofitel before moving on to the Palomar as our goto hotel. Kimpton is my favorite hotel operator by a mile, and I always try to stay in Monacos and Palomars when I travel for business.

So you can imagine how pleased I was to find out that a Monaco was opening in Philly. I immediately snagged reservations there over Thanksgiving and Xmas. For Thanksgiving we secured corner suite for our family of four and a basic King room for my mother-in-law. The hotel was new, and the restaurant newer, when we stayed over Thanksgiving.

My expectations were high, and they were exceeded. The Philly Monaco is now my favorite Monaco (Baltimore, of all places, and Portland are now runners up). It is also my favorite hotel. Period.

Design: Like other Monaco's I've stayed in, the building is landmark-esque and has high ceilings. As per the Monaco brand I guess you can call it maximalism - flamboyant yet classy, modern yet warm. The pictures capture the gestalt of the design but not the quality and distinctiveness of every piece of furniture. The lobby is wonderful and very chill. It’s a good place to read the paper, get some free morning coffee, or meet up with others before going out.

Rooms: Wow. Even my hard-to-please, design-obsessed mother in law was blown away. Our suite had one nice touch after another, so much so that it’s hard to pick favorites. The sectional white leather couch, half of which opened up into a sofabed, and the adjacent comfy white leather chair, was mine. The bathroom with soaking tub my wife’s favorite.

The location is ideal even if you’re not a sightseer. The area west of Broad Street (which is about seven blocks up) has better shopping but is more 'generic city,' while the Society Hill area in which this hotel is located is distinctively colonial, charming, and rich with history. We managed to spend some in-between time throwing a football right in front of the hotel, in the expansive independence park, with the liberty bell on one side and independence hall on the other.

View: We had a direct view of Independence Park, with a view of Independence Hall (where it all began) if I were to sit in the comfy white leather chair in one corner of the room. I think that some reviewers who complained thought that they’d be gazing directly on Independence Hall.

Service: Check-in was very smooth. That evening the ‘turndown specialist’ came up within minutes of our requesting to have our sofabed made up. She couldn’t have been more personable, professional, and efficient.. The real test came at checkout. The hotel was very crowded (Black Friday), we had lots of baggage to load into two cars, and we had to transfer a large rug between the cars before departing (long story). They handled it all perfectly, and with a smile.

Amenities: the fitness room is brand spanking new with good equipment, TVs, and peaceful view with the occasional passing horse drawn carriage. We did have an unfortunate experience with room service , and service at the restaurant, but I’m chalking that up to the newness of the place (even relative to the hotel), but in the spirit of the holidays I will give them a chance to redeem themselves over Xmas, after which I’ll submit a follow-up review.

In sum, the Monaco has the coolness of the coolest design hotels without the pretentious and indifferent staff that sometimes comes with the territory. It adds to that the grandeur and elegance of a luxury hotel, but without the stuffiness.

Our family can’t wait to return over Christmas.

Room Tip: Try to be on the west side of the hotel. South seems fine too. You don't need a high floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_digitaldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing