We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Crazy Decor, but great in every other way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Crazy Decor, but great in every other way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location can not be beat for thsi Philadelphia Hotel. Dorectly across from the Liberty Bell, Independence Park and Independence Hall. Close to public transportation and walking distance to many good restaurants and bars.
We got a great rate because it had just opened, but I believe the rates are steep now. Online rates are better. Ask for a park view room if you can...its much brighter.
The hotel is new and funky but with all the ammenities you could ask for. Hotel staff are welcoming and helpful. They had a wagon of goodies for the children to pick from when we checked in and Wine tasting for the adults each evening was a nice touch too! We had several families with children and some couples in our group and all were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room with lots of windows. The inside rooms are dark. no kids activites or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Neannie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the City of Brotherly Love! It’s great to read you and your family had an enjoyable visit.

We love to cater to kids and adults, a little something for everyone. All the kids love the wagons, and the adults love the wine.

Come see us again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Regional Director of We Got Something for Everyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    450
    120
    41
    18
See reviews for
555
841
88
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent a weekend here the first week they opened. I can't say enough about the level of service at the hotel as well as the tremendous value. I am a big fan of Kimpton properties and this is a great addition to their collection of creative and comfortable hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bzist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Bzist,

Thank you, Kimpton & Monaco is even a bigger fan of you! Love your loyalty and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
BZist #1 Fan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it very much. The decor and ambiance is fun and a refreshing change from the big chains. The location is right across the street from independence hall and the liberty bell. Service was excellent and professional. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi DaveB4940,

Happy to hear you had a great visit! We are sad to see you go, hopefully next time we can have you stay with us longer!

Come back again soon.

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This fabulous new Kimpton property is not to be missed. It is chockfull of creative and beautiful style.Enthusiastic staff and a fabulous good-sized fitness room. Rooms are lovely and hotels has all those nice "extra" Kimpton perks! Did not eat in the restaurant-- but looks totally cool!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve0nean0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello LOveOneanOther,

What a great review! Thank you for all the kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Director of Hip and Stylish Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overall, this is a very nice hotel. Staff was nice, Valet was decent (brought the wrong car out the first time we called for it), and the food was good at Red Owl and room service.

Two complaints though....

1: King size beds...not very comfortable. I thought for the price of the rooms, the beds would be very nice. But was very dissapointed in them. Tossed and turned the first night and the second night woke up with a sore back. That might just be me though...

2: I booked a 'Parkview King' room expecting a "overlook Independence Historic National Park" as advertised. Instead I got a view of the building next door. If you looked out the window and turned your head completely 90 degrees to the left you could see this "overlook Independence Historic National Park," as promised. Very Very dissapointed. Felt a little ripped off, should of booked the King Deluxe room and saved money, the view would of been the same. (We were in Room 1019, by the way)

Everything else was pretty good, great location. Everything is within walking distance. Overall, I'd say its a good hotel, but just came up well short of what I was expecting when I booked it/what I paid for it.

Room Tip: Be careful of the Parkview King room, ours didn't have a view as promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear the bed and the view was not to your liking.

On your next trip please feel free to contact me directly at sean.flanigan@hotelmonaco.com so that we can ensure you get the right view!

Best Regards,
Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We have only stayed once at a Kimpton hotel - Hotel Madeira in DC. We enjoyed it, and decided to give the new Hotel Monaco a try while visiting Philly. Our stay was wonderful - clean rooms, friendly staff, and a great location right by the Liberty Bell.

There are a multitude of great places to eat and relax nearby - we liked Amada, Chifa, and Zento. (Morimoto is nearby as well, but we had our little one with us and she's not into sushi... yet.)

If you want the Art museum, it's just a short cab ($10), bus, or subway ride away - not a deterrent or inconvenient, and there are so many great historical museums and parks right next to the hotel, you will have plenty to do!

No complaints about our stay - we even signed up for their frequent traveler program because of our stay - and you get complimentary wifi access just for doing that!!! Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdavit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Alexdavit3,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Monaco on your recent trip to the City of Brotherly Love! Welcome to the Kimpton In Touch family.

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked a room weeks in advance for a wedding on 11-10-12. Check-in was at 3pm. At 4:15 when I tried to check-in I was told my room was not ready (the whole lobby was full of upset customers waiting for rooms). They couldn't tell me when it would be ready, just that they were working on it. We were given vouchers for free drinks at the hotel owned bar next door, however, the bar did not open till 5pm so we were stuck sitting in the lobby. I was tired and hungry and had nowhere to relax!
At around 5pm we got our room. It was a cold 65 degrees inside the room. Ordered room service (chicken sandwich). We were promised it would be less than 30 mins for the food to come. 45 mins later it showed up. At least they offered to comp it.
The glass side on the open shower was too short, but since the water pressure was so weak the puddle didn't get too big.
The next morning at check out I voiced my concerns to a manager who offered to take $50 off the bill.
Nice location, but I'd think long and hard before I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spitfi-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Spitfi-r,

I am terribly sorry to hear about the problems you experienced. I hope you received the email I sent out to you today. If you would be so kind to contact me directly at sean.flanigan@hotelmonaco.com or call me at 267-386-9462 it would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing