We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen weekend in Philly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen weekend in Philly!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful rooms and the rooftop bar is gorgeous! Perfect location for site seeing or just eating and bar hopping. Rasheed was the best bellhop trying to help 10 girls find all their bags that we had stored to go get breakfast after checkout. T was great also extremely friendly and helpful. Great experience!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielle110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Arielle110,

Happy to hear you all had a great time! Roshid and T are killing it with customer service and I truly love hearing the feedback. I will be sure to share your review with them and the team. Thank you for the great comments.

Hope to see you again soon for the next Hen Reunion!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Chicken Coop Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    480
    134
    50
    22
See reviews for
592
908
94
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are Kimpton inner circle members which means we have spent more nights than we can count in Kimpton hotels.
This hotel is their crown jewel,in my opinion.
It is obvious that thought was given to every detail.... from the decor to light placement.....fabulous.
The building is amazing and (incidentally was my husbands office building at one time), the setting couldn't be better. Our country's history AND great, energetic restaurants galleries and shops all at the front door....what could be more fun?
I've saved the best for last.
We have never stayed at a hotel that had a more attentive, lovely staff. Never!
They could give the Four Seasons some pointers and up until our stay they had been our standard bearer for service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Kdks99,

Wow how cool is that, this hotel was once where your husband’s office was located! Thank you for being so loyal to Kimpton and for staying with us. Happy to see you had as close to perfect visit as possible.

Come back and visit us again soon!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
VP of Giving Four Seasons Pointers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family was recently evacuated from our home on the Jersey shore because of Hurricane Sandy. Nevertheless, this unfortunate circumstance was substantially lessened by our stay at the brand new Monaco Hotel in Philadelphia. The building and decor of the hotel is just beautiful, but the shining star of the facility is the staff. In all of our travels, we have never met a more helpful, friendly and accomodating group. Rest assured that we have become a loyal customer of the Monaco Hotel, and we are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Susan W,

I am terribly sorry to hear about the unfortunate circumstances that Hurricane Sandy caused to you and your family. However, I am very happy to see that your stay here was a superior one and that the staff was so friendly and helpful!

We look forward to your return under better circumstances in the future!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

THE GREAT
1. Literally steps away from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell - the location can't be beat!
2. The bellmen/valet: Sean, T and James could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
3. Front desk: Very kid-friendly, professional and service oriented.
4. Concierge: Brian was very knowledgable and helpful. Thanks.
5. Coffee service/wine hour: Impressed! Generous wine pours and nice to have soy milk without having to ask.
6. Room: New to Inner Circle - upgraded to corner suite. Wonderful views, well furnished, beautiful large bathroom with nice toiletries. Amenity exactly as in profile.
7. Fitness ctr: Well equipped including brand new Concept II rower.
8. Business ctr: Adequate but fee for use except boarding passes.
9. Food/beverage: Stratus Rooftop-lively crowd, creative drinks, friendly bartenders. Red Owl Tavern for breakfast was busy but we had efficient service with a smile.
THE MISSES
1. No linens for the pull-out couch was not a problem. The 3 phone calls late at night, more than hour-long wait and a trip to the front desk was!
2. No daily maid service despite indicating service requested. (I can't remember the last time that's occurred at any hotel.) Once requested, it was still more than an hour.

We were told to expect to hear from the management. It's been almost 2 weeks so I'm assuming it's not going to happen.

We'd definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully these issues are limited to housekeeping and only represent a few kinks that need to be worked out at this new property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Blueskynm,

Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal guest to Kimpton. Happy to see there were many areas of your stay that were great and disheartened to see the areas we didn’t live up to. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay, would you be so kind to contact me directly? Either by email at sean.flanigan@hotelmonaco.com or 267-386-9462.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here while Hurricane Sandy was passing through. Hotel is beautiful, the room was fantastic, the staff were awesome - special thanks to John at the front desk, games were brought out at wine time (5pm) and the staff in the Red Owl Tavern were great also. If we were going to hole up longer, we would have stayed there. Also, the gym was better than average with a good selection of cardio machines, and some Precor machines (including stretching "thingee" and cable tower) along with free weights, bosu balls and regular exercise balls. Thanks for taking care of us!

Also, this was our fourth Kimpton and third Hotel Monaco stay - not to take away from the others, but this was by far the best Kimpton experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelnoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Eelnoj,

WOW! What a great review! Thank you so much for staying with us and for the fantastic comments. I will be sure to give John praise for going above and beyond.

Come visit us again real soon!

Cheers,
Sean Flanigan
Director of Best Kimpton Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for four nights earlier this week at the Monaco Hotel in Philadelphia. The hotel is wonderful - the hip decor, the very comfortable rooms, the complimentary coffee in the morning, and the complimentary wine hour in the afternoon.

But the biggest reason that I write this review is to tell you about the wonderful staff. I have traveled extensively and I have never experienced such a genuinely friendly and helpful staff. We were evacuated from the Jersey Shore for Hurricane Sandy and they could not have been more accommodating.

We will be a returning customer for sure....next time under better circumstances!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Sue W,

I am terribly sorry to hear that you were evacuated from your home due to Sandy. However, I ‘m very happy to see you had a wonderful experience with us given the circumstances. I will be sure to thank the team for providing great service.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Sean Flanigan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

My family came here last min when our power went out due to sandy.
Wow! What a nice surprise. Everyone from the doormen to the front desk personnel were super nice. So many little touches, toys for the kids, warm milk and cookies, a prompt reservation to buddhakan!
Thanks for making a difficult time feel like home

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFlanigan, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Docolove,

Our hearts go out to all of those affected from Sandy. Our goal is to make everyone feel as comfortable and safe when experiencing any affects from Sandy and being displaced from their homes. We wanted to welcome everyone with open arms and hearts and it sounds like we did just that, which makes me really happy to see.

Hope to welcome you back under better circumstances in the future!

Cheers,

Sean Flanigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,199 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
Address: 433 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2426 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing