We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

The Barnes Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #2 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Barnes Foundation houses one of the finest collections of nineteenth- and twentieth-century French painting in the world. An extraordinary number of masterpieces by Renoir, Cezanne and Matisse provide a depth of work by these artists that is unavailable elsewhere. Established as an educational institution, the Barnes carries out its mission teaching classes in its galleries and Arboretum.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was one of the skeptics that thought there was no way the Barnes should move from Merion to Philadelphia. I have been proven wrong. It is amazing. They did a fabulous job at recreating the Barnes of old into a modern structure. It is much better. The lighting is better, the temperature is better, the new and old mix very well. Overall better. Plus now they've started doing Friday night events in the main sitting area. They serve wine, beer, and some decent light fare. Had a ham and gruyere sandwich that was as good as any in a fine restaurant. The people sitting around were a bit unsophisticated, though, for they seemed oblivious to the quartet playing classical music, they talked loudly throughout the performance. I was tempted many times to tell them to shut up, but you know, I didn't want to lower myself to their level. You know the type, money and no class. I am looking forward to visiting the Barnes every Friday night - oh, yeah, and on Friday nights they stay open late. My guest room is getting used much more these days for all our out of town friends want to come see the new Barnes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BEG1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,238
    533
    155
    59
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overwhelming Experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

You need to order tickets sometimes weeks in advance but well worth the trip. We will be back. The galleries are jam packed with such beautiful works that you really need to go again and again to take it all in and experience each piece.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJF0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Barnes Collection”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

One of the most incredible collections of post impressionism and pre modern art curated by Dr. Alfred Barnes, it is an breathtaking collection. After many years of litigation, and against the wishes of Barnes, this collection was re-located to downtown Philly from Merion, PA, and now far more accessible to the public. Putting aside all the controversy, this is simply an amazing museum of art and was relocated and rehung exactly as it was displayed in Merion and how the owner wanted his collection to be viewed. Tickets are best purchased prior to your visit as only a set amount are set aside for same day viewing. My daughter and me had 11:00 am tickets and stayed until 4pm so we can just see it at our leisure. Itunes has a podcast you can download to view and hear about the "hi-lights" in each of the rooms, and saves you the $$ it would cost to get a/v guide they sell there. Just paradise for fans of Renoir, Cezanne and many more you will never see any other place. This collection does not travel!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zydecojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beats Lower Merion”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The new location is so much more accessible and logical. A gem among the other quality museums, this collection will please anyone who loves or is just interested in primarly impressionist work.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great art in great building”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We scheduled a trip to Philadelphia primarily to see the Barnes Foundation. We were not disappointed and would go back again. Recommend having the head set recording device as a way to learn more about the artists and art that are not "household names." Open on Friday nights with music. Excellent gift shop. Centrally located.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank njts2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnes Foundation also viewed

 

Been to The Barnes Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing