We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art lovers paradise”

The Barnes Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #2 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Barnes Foundation houses one of the finest collections of nineteenth- and twentieth-century French painting in the world. An extraordinary number of masterpieces by Renoir, Cezanne and Matisse provide a depth of work by these artists that is unavailable elsewhere. Established as an educational institution, the Barnes carries out its mission teaching classes in its galleries and Arboretum.
Waterloo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Art lovers paradise”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was for this museum that we made the trip to Philadelphia. Unique, fascinating, comprehensive collection of 20th century European and American art. Mostly Renoir, Matisse, Cezanne, and Modigliani, but also many others. Be prepared to wait a long time to get back into the galleries if you leave for a lunch or bathroom break. Must order tickets in advance for timed entry (internet). If you love this kind of art, you must not miss this museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,239
    533
    155
    59
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Incredible Art Museum”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I watched the documentary "The Art of the Steal" on Netflix and it made the visit that much more enjoyable. We paid for the docent tour, but the docent was a retired criminal defense lawyer who loved art. The docents we had in Rome had art history degrees and were much more helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JasonfromTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had been skeptical when the move was announced. After seeing the documentary on WHYY, I decided to go to the museum. I was impressed. Although the building is sleek and modern, the exhibit rooms displayed the collections as they had been in Dr. Barnes' mansion. A must see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Don't miss this new location for the Barnes. It was wonderful and everything was displayed as it was in Dr. Barnes' mansion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bud290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had seen the Barnes Foundation collection in it's original location about 15 years ago. It has truly been reassembled exactly as it was. The new location is very convenient and restfully designed and landscaped. Timed tickets ensure that it is not too crowded and that you can see all the art. I only had 2 hours and wished I could have spent more time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzannea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnes Foundation also viewed

 

Been to The Barnes Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing