We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to see on the Parkway!”

The Barnes Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
More Info
$329.00*
and up
Day Trip from New Haven CT to Philadelphia by Rail
Ranked #2 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Barnes Foundation houses one of the finest collections of nineteenth- and twentieth-century French painting in the world. An extraordinary number of masterpieces by Renoir, Cezanne and Matisse provide a depth of work by these artists that is unavailable elsewhere. Established as an educational institution, the Barnes carries out its mission teaching classes in its galleries and Arboretum.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“More to see on the Parkway!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Barnes collection is so amazingly large you must visit mulptiple times to take it all in in small chunks. The new building is interesting and adds much to the experience of the visit. The landscaping is beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1superlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,328
    547
    159
    61
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Free Tickets First Sunday of the Month”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I went to the Barnes this afternoon using the free Sunday afternoon tickets. The free tickets are being offered for the first Sunday of each month. http://www.uwishunu.com/2012/05/the-barnes-foundation-and-peco-team-up-to-offer-free-first-sundays-at-the-barnes-starting-on-june-3/

We visited the galleries first, but in retrospect, should have started with the exhibit on the ground floor devoted to Dr. Barnes and the history of the collection. The exhibit on Dr. Barnes provides a good context to the exhibits in the galleries.

The art is placed exactly as it was in the building in Merion. There are no explanations in the galleries but most of the rooms contain booklets which tell you what is what. There is no explanation about why the art is hung the way it is; Dr. Barnes liked to juxtapose different artworks but it is not easy to discern what he meant to convey by the various arrangemenst. I did not get the audio tour so perhaps that might help. It costs $5 for nonmembers.

I do not know but somehow I missed the room in which Matisse Joy of Life was hung.I'm sorry I missed that.

We parked in the museum lot it was $15 which we didn't mind since the tickets were free.

Overall I enjoyed the visit and would return!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknroll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shokan, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a fabulous recreation of the Barnes mansion”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Do go. The architects have created a beautiful new museum building, surrounding the "make-over" of the mansion interior, with all the paintings and objets as Albert Barnes had them when he passed away. Glorious post-impressionist paintings; absolutely worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overwhelming. Beautiful.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Barnes Foundation is a remarkable museum of modern art. The collection is overwhelming in its scope and presentation. The space is modern, spare & beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Successful move”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited the new Barnes Foundation museum during the opening weekend. The new building is sleek and modern and perfectly situated near other museums of interest in Philadelphia. Once inside, I was amazed at how faithfully the foundation has reproduced the feel and look of the original Barnes exhibit in Merion, PA. It is awe-inspiring to get so close to so many priceless works of art--and mind-boggling to think hat one person could have amassed such a collection. The museum has copious,spacious and welcoming outdoor spaces and indoor open space to sit, meet and relax. The restaurant was not open when we visited. The gift shop was smaller than I e pelted but still full of treasures.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnes Foundation also viewed

 

Been to The Barnes Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing