We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites near Univ. of Penn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights with my two teens. Location is great if you're visiting Penn.. Safe, clean. We had one bedroom with pullout sofa in l. room. L. room was like a tiny, dark, dark cave.No window, very minimal lighting.l Hotel is more interested in conserving energy than in guest comfort. "Energy efficient" lighting system -light switches are some type of simmer device, but challenging to use consistently. Would try Sheraton next time for comparison.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Texascarmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 692 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Good experience, happy there is affordable hotel in city other than Center City. University City has many restaurants and you have easy city transit to go into and around historic Philadelphia. There are many things to do and see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank 406aliciam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear 406aliciam,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that all of your needs were met during your visit.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great hotel with nice pool and great rooms. Located near lots of restaurants and PENN's campus. Felt very safe the whole time. Good morning free breakfast buffet. We ended up with a two bedroom suite which was nice and quiet. I would go there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davenylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Overall good service, breakfast and dinner included, roomy and very clean. Walking distance to U Penn, CHOP, and good restaurants. Affordably priced, great quality. I highly recommend this Homewood Suites in University City, Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Bonnie B,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that all aspects of your stay were excellent.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

First the good stuff: Two of us stayed for a week in July. It is a very conveniently located hotel for access to the UPenn campus; either a leisurely 15-20 minute stroll, or a mere 5 minute ride on the free hotel shuttle. All staff of this hotel, with the minor exception of 1 or 2 housekeeping personnel, were extremely courteous, professional, helpful and pleasant. The dining room employees, who very ably staffed both the complimentary breakfast & dinner M-Th, deserve recognition in particular. This area was very well maintained...food was plentiful, tables were cleared & promptly wiped (a side note: I observed many grown adults leaving their used tableware & garbage on the table for the staff to clear when garbage bins were steps away...it bothers me to see that behavior). A smile, hello and help was always available from each of the dining staff, and this made mealtime even more enjoyable. I was very impressed with this staff. In addition, Jeanette at the front desk made check-in fast & painless, and she was very patient with all the inquiries I had.

Our room was on the 10th floor, away from elevators as I had requested. Card keys are required to access guest floors and to turn on power in the room, a very energy conscious feature. We stayed in a king studio suite. It was in the style of a railroad apartment: the kitchen (full refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishwasher, sink, table & 2 dining chairs) was closest to the entry, followed by the vanity/closet/bathroom, and finally leading into the bed & tv area, with sofa, which was comfortable for 2, but might feel cramped for 4. We loved that the vanity & closet is separate from the shower/toilet room. It made getting ready a lot easier.

Overall, we liked the staff, the convenient location, the public spaces and other amenities of this hotel a lot. We like suite hotels in general, but this was not our favorite design as it's narrow layout made it feel tight. Also, there are a few useful things we noticed during our 5 night stay that I would like to share.

Our bedding did not feel clean: the duvet cover with comforter was both upside down (the flap/opening was at the top) AND inside out; it also did not look nor smell fresh. Our fitted bed sheet was inside out and barely clinging onto the mattress. I removed 3 of the 5 pillows on our bed because they had noticeable yellow stains or brown streaks on them. The complimentary "vanity kit" (a small box containing qtips, emery board, floss, and cotton) had clearly been opened, and someone had scribbled on it with a pen, yet it was left for my use. While I did not have need for these items, discoveries like this make me question the cleanliness of my room & whether it was thoroughly cleaned or if shortcuts were used to make it just appear tidy. The kitchen floor was sticky, and one of the kitchen lights didn't turn on. The shower (no tub) has no light overhead and is very dark, and the a/c unit made a loud bang every time it turned on or off; a few times the noise startled me while I was reading. Like other reviewers have noticed as well, the walls are super thin! I was able to hear my neighbors' entire conversation while trying to fall asleep. Luckily for us both it was in a foreign language I do not understand.

Overall, this was a modern, conveniently located hotel with amenities that fit our needs, but there is some room for improvement in the areas noted.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ddmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stay was for two weeks, room wasn't cleaned on three or four occassions, no wash clothes for several days, bar of soap was only provided on first day of stay. Parking in the area of the hotel is horrendous and the hotel takes advantage of this by charging 40.00 for use of hotel parking. On some occasions we had to park blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were in town for an all weekend track invitational at Widener University with teenagers. The area of the hotel was very convenient and had many amenities within walking distance which was preceived very well from the kids. The staff was very attentive and the room was very comfortable. Loved our Stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#4 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,436 reviews
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#63 of 88 in Philadelphia
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $142 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing