We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Homewood Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites University City
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a very nice 11 story hotel about a half a mile west of the University of Pennsylvania (and Drexel University). Valet parking is fast and friendly but a $39 add on per night. We had been at the Embassy Suites downtown for two nights and we like this hotel much better.

The valet is the first floor, laundry on the second and the desk, business center, exercise room and pool/jacuzzi is on the third floor. We got a nice upgrade to a room on the 10th floor looking towards downtown. All rooms face east but you won't have much of a view if you have a room on floors 4 or 5. The breakfast was nice but my wife is lactose intolerant and there was no soy milk or other substitute available.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I think it was a good deal for the price. It is within walking distance to many restaurants. We heard that they have a shuttle bus which can take you anywhere in University City so you should take advantage of this. If you happen to be visiting Children's Hospital like we were, you could follow advice we were given: Park at the hospital for $16 max per day and take the shuttle back and forth. If you're a parent of a patient, your validated hospital parking is only $3 per day. Save the rest for a meal. (Make sure to check this advice with the hotel staff.)

Room Tip: Ask fort a room above the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 684 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our plans had us arriving late and the staff greeted us warmly and promptly got us on our way to the room. The room and the entire property was immaculate. We didn't use the refrigerator or other amenities in the room but it was nice to see they were available. We had coffee in the morning but there were hot plates with breakfast food that was included in the rate. Check out was a breeze, as it should be. Will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My mom and I stayed here because she came up to see a Mask and Wig Club show at the University of Pennsylvania. The hotel was great - quiet, new, and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was a plus, too. We had a wonderful experience. The show was awesome as always.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Rishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Rishi S,

Thank you for your review. I am gald that you had a positive stay and enjoyed the UPENN Mask and Wig show.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were very comfortable in our very clean and well done suite.The staff from the reception,dining,security,maid and shuttle drivers were all friendly,courteous and kind.we will stay here next time we come to philly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was here for just over a week on business. The rooms are amazing. Each has a kitchenette complete with microwave, fridge, small stove and even a dishwasher. There is a sitting area and large bedroom. There is a laundry room with a washer and dryer, as well as a typical hotel laundry service. Reliable fast internet; but periodically having to verify credentials at seemingly random times got tedious.

A bit of a let down is the fact that the rooms are not serviced thoroughly every day. Coffee was not always replaced. (There is 24 hour coffee, decaff, tea in the dining area, but this was occasionally lukewarm). Not given new soap every day. One day a pillow cover was removed but not replaced.

Breakfast and dinner are included. There is a variety at breakfast but no fibre. The dinners can only be described as awful. I ate out several times rather than eat the free food in the hotel. There is a Fresh Grocer with an amazing selection of fresh and preprepared foods as well as many restaurants with take out in close proximity.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in October 2013. The rooms are comfortable with good storage. There is a bedroom and a sitting room/kitchen. You might need to kitchen because the food available is not really very tempting. It was the main area of concern for most of my colleagues. The complimentary evening meal is served is a short window from 7 - 9pm which is not very convenient. It is a limited buffet aided by free red and while wine. Many people preferred to run down the road to the supermarket to get sushi. The room entry system is very strange - it took about 5 minutes for the door entry system to activate after being given my key-card. The desk will tell you it will take 'a couple of minutes'.

So, the good things? Comfort, very helpful staff everywhere, free beer and wine, nice area. I would stay there again in a work context.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff at the Homewood Suites, University City were very pleasant, professional and will to help with all accomodations. Our stay was for medical reasons at CHOP, the hotel shuttled us to and from appointments which was great. The hotel is located in an excellent area for restaurants, grocery, banking and a short walk from the hospital and other retail. I would recommend this hotel to any other family that needs a place for a long term stay. Their meals were also pretty good with a variety of choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Dawn C,

Thank you for your review of the Homewood Suites University City. We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle around the University City area and you recommend us for long term stays.

Thanks,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
University City
AKA University City
AKA University City
#62 of 88 in Philadelphia
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites University City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites University City

Address: 4109 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $150 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites University City 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites in our brand-new University City property come in studio and one-bedroom sizes, all with top amenities and modern, attractive decor. Each suite includes a full kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and twin-burner stove, and features separate living and sleeping areas with all the comforts of home and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites University City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing