We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Suites University City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
399
216
50
42
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
216
50
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingbreakfast and dinnershuttle servicecomplimentary breakfasthome away from homestreet parkingpull out sofaliving roomfull kitchenfree shuttlethird floorwalnut streetfront desk staffwould definitely stay here againfew blocksnice stayconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 730 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a new hotel so there are some kinks to work out. I stayed here for one night while in town for work. It is very close to the major hospitals. They offer a shuttle to the hospitals close by which is nice. I took a cab from the airport to the hotel, but my co-worker had a rental car and parked. She said valet parking was $39.00. Make your own decision about that. The lobby is on the 3rd floor-so when you walk in from downstairs-there aren't really any signs telling where to go until you get in the elevator. Also they gave me a map of the area-but the hotel wasn't even on there-At least give me a map if I walk around-I can find the hotel where I am staying. The valet was much more helpful-pointed me in the right direction on the map.

My room was clean, quiet and cool. The staff were friendly. The dinner served was fine and breakfast is your typical HW Suites breakfast. The woman working the dinner area was super nice and friendly!

Didn't use the gym, but looked very nice.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear DavidandKim,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the staff and your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is within walking distance to the U of Pa. The staff here was especially helpful and friendly. Breakfast is complimentary. On week nights, a complimentary dinner is also served (although the menu is a bit quirky). The hotel offers studio, one-bedroom and two bedroom suites and is an especially good choice if you are stayinf for mre than a day or two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear erta b,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed the staff, your suite and our food! Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is very nice. It's very new and very clean. The staff is very accomodating and I would definitely stay here again. It's too bad we can't give a 4.5 as that is probably a better reflection of the rating a I would prefer to reserve a 5 for resort properties that offer everything to its guests. There is no restaurant in the hotel, however, they serve complimentary dinner with wine or beer Monday through Thursday which was very nice and relaxing. The pool and fitness areas were nice, but nothing outside which makes sense for the cold months.

The staff here is great. The dining area staff were the best as were the doormen. We had great service there. The maid acted like it was an inconvenience for her to clean our room everyday and when I answered the door at 8 am one morning, she said she was there to clean. I told her that I would be gone by 9. She acted like that would be too late and she didn't come back. She didn't seem too motivated. I could have complained, but I really didn't care that much. The rooms are quite large and everything works. The place was very clean so not an issue for me.


The laundry facilities are great and are cheap, ($1 per load). That was very convenient. There was an odor in the laundry room that smelled to me like a sewer issue, but the clothes came out clean and smelled good, so not sure what the problem might be there. Our room had a small kitchen in a separate room. Everything worked fine and the fridge was very clean.

Like I said, we would definitely stay here again. I agree with the other reviewer that any small issues were most likely related to the fact that this is a new property. I liked being in University City. However, I am sure that being downtown is nice too now that we know what is down there. There is a train from the airport to downtown too apparently.

This was perfect for our little family. Thanks to everyone at the Homewood for making our stay nice. We were there for 6 days and thought it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear tpowellwow,

Thank you for your review. We take great pride in our service and cleanliness. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paul DiNapoli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It's going through teething problems, as all new hotels do. It's a beautiful property, with an unbeatable location if you're visiting UPenn or want to stay in the West Philly area and great service. Where my issues were though, was the room iteself. It was spacious and had all the amenities I could want, but for whatever reason, they have really heavy blankets on the bed and despite the themostat being set at 68, I'd wake up cold. I guess I could have thrown them off, but then I'd get cold. I dunno, I can be fussy but for whatever reason I coudn't get comfortable in the room for long. I heard a similar complaint from another guest in an elevator. I don't think the system was broken, but maybe a construction issue? It was a particularly humid weekend, which always messes with climate control. To be fair, I was jetlagged, which may have impacted my sleep, so I'll only knock them down one star. Also, the shower never got hot, despite me having the dial all the way up. It was warm, but never hot.

As I said, I think this is due to the hotel being a month old, and I imagine these small issues will work themselves out over time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan7482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Dan7482,



Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. You are our first reviewer, and we greatly appreciate both your business and the review. We apologize that you were inconvenienced by the temperature in your room, as well as the hot water. We are sorry you experienced these issues on your first stay with us. Yes, we did just open, so you may well be correct in noting that we are experiencing “teething problems.” Thank you for seeing that and for your understanding. Thank you also for your kind words about our property. We love our new hotel and want it to be the best it can be. So we’ve taken your review to heart and will address the issues you brought forward. Thank you sincerely again, and we welcome you back again soon. Wishing you continued safe travels.



All the best,

Paul DiNapoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Homewood Suites University City, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews