We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but a bit pricey”
Review of Morris Arboretum

Morris Arboretum
Ranked #30 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania is a historic public garden and educational institution. It promotes an understanding of the relationship between plants, people and place through programs that integrate science, art and the humanities.
Solvay, New York, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun but a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We took the kids to the Morris Arboretum to go to the tree house and to participate in the scavenger hunt. We thought it was nice. The kids enjoyed the train and the tree house a lot. They also liked the scavenger hunt, although it was a bit difficult for them. I also thought it was bit pricey. It cost us almost $60.00 for two adults, a middle school child and two kids under 5.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    77
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
291 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“so so place”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

While it is a bit small by todays standards 125 years ago it was the only one like it in area, some examples have died off due to improper care and can never be replaced, if you like nature when visiting here , make other plans as wll for the day cause it doesn't take long to go through.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a wee bit expensive”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We went here for an evening wedding and wondered around before the ceremony. We thought it was so beautiful that we decided to return the next day to explore more. There are a lot of nooks and crannies with statues and little buildings but the true beauty are the flora - some magnificent trees and gorgeous bushes and flowers and the ferns in the green house. There are a few trails to walk through the wooded areas- they are not very long and easily doable. They are nice to do to get out of the hot sun. Lots of benches around to sit and relax. Children and adults will enjoy the trains area that has whimsical houses and decorations. My only complaint is that it is $16 per adult which I find to be expensive for a two to three hour park visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility followed up with flowers, shrubs, & trees”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We love Morris Arboretum and became members after our first visit approximately 3 years ago. We have visited many different months over the past few years because the gardens are ever changing depending on the time of year you visit. The rose garden, the garden railway, the fern greenhouse are all favorites in the summer. The fall provides spectacular fall color with all the trees, and visiting in the winter after a snowstorm is almost magical. It is just a great place to take a walk and clear your head and enjoy all of nature's beauty. Downtown Chestnut Hill is a bonus because it is close, and has lots of good shopping and places to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to a wedding here and it was one of the most beautiful places for a wedding I've ever seen! This place is amazing!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank candicemdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Morris Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing