We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Accidental" tourist”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I found the Silverstone "by accident" due to our procrastination in finding accommodations for a recent convention. How fortunate for us! The Silverstone is as lovely and gracious as it's owners, Rom and Yolanta. The home is spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful architectural details. The guest rooms are quite large and the Tempurpedic bed in our room was a treat! Breakfast was delicious and filling. The property is located in a fabulous part of town, with very easy access to the city. I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Chestnut Hill area on foot and admiring the incredibly beautiful architecture. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this property while on a workshop for 6 nights. I found the accommodation to be clean, well appointed and the overall ambiance to be like stepping back into time. The four poster bed in the room was just perfect. The owners were very welcoming and did their best to ensure that it felt like to to myself and other guests. I was very pleased to have access to a kitchen for my late evening dinners. I would recommend a stay. yes, it is true as mentioned elsewhere that the individual rooms do not lock (not a concern for me) and that the owners can be chatty - a feature of a bed and breakfast that I quite enjoy. I appreciated the personalized attention. there is some street noise as they face a major street - again, it did not bother me, but one should be aware.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same size/price or with bathrooms. check and decide based on your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We give five stars to the Silverstone. The inn keepers are gracious and fascinating. They're from Poland (30 years ago) and are passionate experts on the history of Poland and Ukraine. They are great conversationalists. Huge rooms, very elegant, up to date on all modern amenities in a 175 year old mansion. Delicious breakfast. Easy walk to Septa train into central Philly. Wonderful walking opportunities through Chestnut Hill and around to park trails -- 8 mile loop. See their map. We loved our experience at the Silvestone. We couldn't have felt more welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having been to so many similar places all over the world, I can state with conviction that the place has a unique ambience and the friendliness of the hosts is unparalleled. Rom's breakfast omelettes are legendary.
Andrew

Room Tip: We stayed in the library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrzej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great victorian home tastefully decorated. All the amenities in a beautiful setting. We slept in a room which has a tempurpedic mattress which first felt weird but turned out to be very comfortable. Rooms are full of antiques and old family portraits. Hosts were very nice, it felt as if staying with family. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PawelJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staying at the Silverstone B and B is a treat which we were lucky enough to enjoy this past week. Located in the historic and beautiful Chestnut Hill area of Philadelphia, the home is a great blend of Victorian charm and modern comforts. We arrived on a snowy evening and had no trouble reaching it; all was shoveled clear. The reception rooms are spacious and very bright with natural light, and beautifully decorated. We stayed in a room called "the library" and it was the quietest room I have experienced in our recent travels. Extremely comfortable bed with special mattress, huge bathroom complete with modern updates and towel warmer! We were treated to a full breakfast the next day in the dining room, delicious. The hosts are welcoming, helpful, and friendly, and truly make you feel like Silverstone is your home during your stay. Highly recommend this wonderful B and B; we will return for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandm412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I and my brother recently visited family in Chestnut Hill, PA and had the pleasure of staying at the Silverstone B & B. The accommodations were outstanding and the owners very friendly and very attentive. The home itself was something out of history and the breakfast was made to order and delicious. I felt as if we were staying with family, very inviting. I enjoyed being able to come and go as we pleased without "checking in" each time we left or returned. Our room was huge and well appointed. The bathroom was equally large with a huge shower and HOT water. The towels were warm and wonderful toiletries were provided. I felt like I was stepping back in time to a luxurious old inn.
The morning breakfast was made to order and my brother was overwhelmed with the spinach and ham omelet. The owner was able to custom tailored a paleo breakfast for myself and even shared her amazing seed bread. Fresh fruit and even smoked salmon with capers and onions were served for our enjoyment.
All in all I would highly recommend this establishment and my Aunt who found this lovely inn will recommend it to future visitors as well.
This inn is not the Marriott or Hyatt and that's exactly what made it so wonderful. When you stay at a B & B you are staying with a family who wants to extend their lovely home to the public and takes pride in their accommodations and hospitality. The Silverstone is such a place and I will stay again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillytrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#18 of 88 in Philadelphia
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Philadelphia
279 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
298 reviews
City Center West
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstone Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8840 Stenton Ave, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA 19118-2846
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: $125 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing