We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcoming.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not welcoming.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

on returning at 9.30pm B&B in darkness (dangerous) and very cold no heating on .small towel heater in bathroom took an hour to warm up ,me and other guests kept our coats on .
when I asked Yolanta (owner for wake up call twice she said 'You don't need awake up call " next day her husband into breakfast and infront of other guests said "Yolanta in a very bad mood ,she told me to go wake you up !My room less than half the size of other rooms and yet was charged the same $115 other guests told me to complain then Yolanta very annoyed with me !!Renee helper (she did all the work ) was great and very accommodating always with a warm smile .Her service I would rate excellent ,the owners poor !
In general I do NOT recommend this B&B because of the owners overall attitude was punitive and condescending .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolantaroman, Owner at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am very sorry that our guest from Kuala Lumpur (special discount, $115 per night, for the Institutes’ patients) did not feel at home in “Silverstone”.
Its my fault, and, therefore, my apology and explanation is necessary:
Quite often I treat our guests informally; I tell stories, jokes, anegdotes – without realizing that my behavior might be received as unprofessional. 99 percents of the quests have good time and enjoy the homy atmosphere in our B&B (please read other reviews and what people write about us). But there are others who prefer a hotel-like, official service. Being a host, I should have been able to “read” the guests and behave appropriately to their expectations. I am very sorry that last time I wasn’t successful.
Rom Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    12
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
50
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

What an incredible BB. We stayed as a couple over Thanksgiving. The hosts of the BB were amazing and they made our stay there a wonderful experience. The breakfast was extensive with anything you could ask for, the rooms were pristine, clean, with the character of an old Victorian mansion, the service was outstanding. We felt like we were treated as though we were family.
Thank you Silverstone! We recommend this to anyone stop in and around Phili.
Krystyna & Damian

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is the best hidden gem in Philadelphia. We were amazed and felt like we were in Europe. The Room was large and well equipped. The home made food was incredible . The coffee was best I ever had. You will be so happy with this booking, so just do it and see for yourself

Room Tip: Any room you get there is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights here while in the area to provide care for a family member. I come to the area often and usually stay in one of the chain hotels nearby, but I am very glad I chose to stay at Silverstone B&B during this trip. The owners are very available and radiate such sincere and heartfelt hospitality that it was a comfort to be their guest. The room was spacious and the bed was extra comfortable (a Posturepedic mattress). The bathroom was clean and fully stocked with nice toiletries. The breakfast each morning was made to order and very generous. This is a lovely accommodation in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yolantaroman, Owner at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Sometimes I am feeling that it is a privilege to be a host in a B&B , because there are such a nice people coming to stay with us. Some of them need only a tasty breakfast, other are searching for a homy place different than a hotel. And meeting these people often makes me a better person.
Rom Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, I am not a B & B person! Having said that, I must say my five night stay was comfortable and relaxed. I enjoyed my room and the house. A private bathroom was included. Breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful. Host and hostess were polite and professional. Guests have access to a washer/dryer. Being within walking distance, or short drive if one wishes, to Chestnut Hill's main drag is reason enough to stay here! I would definitely stay here again. It's close enough to downtown Philly for a family visit to the historic sites and art museums.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havefuneveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed four nights at this historic and lovely bed and breakfast.We were welcomed by the friendly owners Rom and Yolanta who ensured that we had what we needed and answered any questions about nearby restaurants, museums and trails to enjoy. Large room upstairs with private bath, spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. Every morning we enjoyed a full breakfast prepared by the talented chef and harpist Renee. Delicious food and excellent coffee from a local coffee brewer. My husband loved the blueberrry pancakes and I enjoyed the fruits and eggs!
Walked to chestnut hill for dinner at Heirloom-wonderful.
We would definitely recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldek, Public Relations Manager at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear CatCalifornia,
Thank you for your review. To hear from you (an experienced tripadvisor's reviewer) that new coffee was good and that our PR manager was doing a great job was a great reward, especially for Rom. He's showed your review to Renee, and forgot to show it to Yolanta (who,as an B&B owner, doesn't need encouragement).
Truly Yours,
Rom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came back 3rd time. This place is fabulous! It is not only beautifully decorated, but also provides warm and comfort traveler needs. The breakfasts are delicious and the hosts are terrific. We can't wait to be back! Thank you Yolanta a and Aldek!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldek, Public Relations Manager at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Stan and Barbara,
Maybe our breakfast was good, but your company - even better !
Thanks for coming. Next time double omelets for both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chestnut Hill
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Chestnut Hill Hotel
#22 of 86 in Philadelphia
458 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstone Bed & Breakfast

Property: Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8840 Stenton Ave, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA 19118-2846
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing