We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to U Penn but not so friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 28 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“close to U Penn but not so friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Someone was on hand when we arrived to take our credit card info, but we never saw any representative again. None of our questions were answered about where to eat or to park or to visit UPenn, which was the only reason we booked this close to the university. Room was crowded with knicknacks but not amenities for guests. No more useful than local budget hotel with same lack of useful information. Hot breakfast provided, but no personal touch at all. No different than chain hotel, and raked dirty leaves on side porch, too, and more expensive.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Owner at Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I appreciate constructive comments from all of our guests but must say I am not so sure I see the validity of any of the above. We are a small run bed and breakfast so we do not have a front desk staff that sits in our lobby 24 hours a day. I will concede that point but that is all. My father in-law lives on the premises so he is on the property 24 hours a day. Sometimes he has to run out to do some shopping but that is it. In regard to us not answering guests questions on where to eat or park that would be a first. These two questions are the ones we get the most so we know the answers very well. We have very detailed information on our website about places to park and dine near the Cornerstone, and in each room is a concierge book that also lists nearby dining options in case they did not check our website. If guest ask us we are always happy to assist them and even have detailed walking instructions to about 10 different restaurants. What I really do not understand is the “knickknacks” comment. I can assure you the Cornerstone is a knickknack free zone. Only one of our rooms the University Suite has any extra decorations other than the pictures hung on the wall. This room has a two small Wedgewood plates on the bookshelf and that is about it. Certainly nothing a guest would have to move out of the way. We consciously as owners keep the rooms simple so our guests do not have to move things out of the way to use the desks. As far as other amenities we do not provide I am not sure what they mean. We have hair driers in all the rooms, towels, shampoo, soap, conditioner, 24 hour coffee and tea, as well as guest refrigerators. Lastly in regard to the leaves, my response is it is fall. I sweep the front porch every single day but seeing as we do have a tree located next to the porch yes we do get a handful of leaves on the porch each and every day at this time of year.

If you think we are no better than a chain hotel than I suggest you just book with the Sheraton in University City. If you also think we are too expensive I will counter that point by saying when you come back to Upenn to visit your son or daughter just wait to see what they charge you during homecoming or graduation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    41
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
80
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a good location for easy access to University of Pennsylvania, while experiencing a neighborhood as compared to staying in hotel on campus. I walked everywhere, and it seemed relatively safe even at night. There's a busy street on one side, but even so my rooms were quiet. I stayed in University Suite. The weather was very hot and air conditioning worked fine. Everything was super clean. There's a handy hotwater dispenser for tea at anytime, and snacks provided too. My only complaint: WIFi was temperamental. Hosts were exceptionally attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Usually staying at the Kimpton Hotel downtown and taking the bus to campus; decided to try this quaint B&B reviewed favorably on Tripadvisor. Situated on the corner of 33rd, and closer to the Drexel campus, the location is a 15 minute walk to campus. The wonderful 'Sabrina Cafe' is one block away. They do not inflate their prices like the Inn at Penn or the Sheraton, when university parents are expected in town. This lovely, well taken care of, historic home is a charm. It warmed my heart to see the parents, kids and grandchildren all chipping in to take care of this family owned business. I had the Franklin room at the top of the stairs, and was very happy. The breakfast for delicious, the treats left out all night were a nice extra. Close to the subway. I found my new home in Philadelphia when visiting U Penn...just don't let anyone else in on this secret!

Room Tip: Website has good description of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trutraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Such a good place to stay, not far away from downtown and situated in a very quiet and charming neighbourhood. The house is an old place very well maintained and with beautiful stainglass. The hostess is very welcoming and breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cl_loertscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cornerstone B&B. The location is great. We were able to park in front of the front door (on a weekend). Breakfast was delicious, the staff friendly and the room spacious and furnished to a high quality. And it's always a joy to stay in a place with a bit of history.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cornerstone. The inn was beautiful. We especially appreciated relaxing and reading on the wrap around porch. Our room (The Pennsylvanian) was spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. The Cornerstone is located within a convenient 10-15 minute walk to the 30th Street Station, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and a wide assortment of restaurants. We also appreciated the warm hospitality that Dennis and Liz extended. Thank you Dennis & Liz!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed our 9 days stay at Conerstone B&B. The XIX century house situated on the Drexel campus is very convenient and nice, near subway and museums. We liked very much the hospitality of Dennis and his wife, the Dennis's humour and his help to feel you welcome. The room was nice ans clean and the breakfasts gave a great moment of hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foudebassannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#13 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3300 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philadelphia's Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast, an elegant and cozy urban inn located within walking distance to the University of Pennsylvania, Drexel University, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Cornerstone offers a unique opportunity to enjoy Philadelphia with Center City only minutes away and easily accessible by public transportation. The Cornerstone offers the following amenities at no additional charge: *Wifi * Breakfast * Zoo Package *Eastern State Package * Street Parking * Toiletries The Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated business. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Bed And Breakfast
Cornerstone Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing